You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: witness roadmap (potentially) for @jesta in 2018

in #witness-update7 years ago

Thanks for sharing your plans. I cannot believe what ton of work you did in 2017, just amazing!

From developer perspective and especially as windows user I would like to see easy to use docker images to run a local testnet. This is really painful and unfortunately there is no really good step-by-step manual. I think many projects currently "spam" the mainnet with their prototype applications. This is something we could and should avoid easily.

I am currently exploring how to run a node, create accounts and making use of the steem api in general.
I found some sources that it is (or was?) possible to create multi-authority-accounts. Is this still possible and can you provide a (new) blog entry about that topic? That would be great!

I think in general it would be great to have an improved section for development and api documentation. http://developers.steem.io seems to only touch the surface. Running a testnet, setting up multi-authority-accounts, building a development-pipeline. These are the "pain points" I am currently facing.

I also consider to be a witness in future. But there is also many information that has to be collected from different sources.

Besides this "newbie"-materials I am absolutely with you! Onboarding process needs to be simplyfied and I am looking forward to see your API platform/backend :-)

Keep up the good work!

Note: if anybody can answer my questions regarding testnet on docker and multi-authority-accounts -> help is appreciated :D

Sort:  

Setting up a testnet on steem isn't something anyone's tackled at this point (besides the Steemit team afaik). I don't think I can point you to anything that allows for a quick/easy setup of your own local testnet.

Because of this, most of us just use the mainnet for actual testing.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62904.22
ETH 2571.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.76