Witness Update @jackmiller, 29 April 2018

in #witness-update6 years ago (edited)

No blocks missed to date.
Price feeds are regular.
Server is up and running without any issues.

Server specs are:

64x GB RAM
Xeon E3
2x4 TB HDD
1gbit/s network
Dedicated Server

All paid for in advance for twelve months, so you don't have to worry about it "turning red" as a "dead witness".

As you can see by the specs here, it can handle any production rate necessary, even if it was in the TOP20 on the witness list.

Update (patch) taken care of.

As for block production:

I have gotten in contact with @witnesswatch who is a cool down to earth person. Explained to him that all my production from my Witness server shall be going to the charity donations that my wife and I have been doing as a family for over fifteen years now & that I literally would feel a lot more comfortable if I had someone with whom I can double check the figures.

So now, apart from Steemd, Gina and my manual adding, I have someone who can at any time of day when necessary supply me the stats they have and I can compare my figures with theirs. Not saying that this is necessary, but to me it is. We all know that double and triple checking never hurts. Likewise @witnesswatch is an independent person who is in no way manner or form related to me, so he will be supplying me with info once every few months and I can sleep tight knowing that if I missed it, he didn't ;)

So far to 25 April 2018

102 blocks have been produced.

Which isn't much considering, however still not bad when we look at the fact that I am a very young witness.

Love this "I am young" (sigh)!

Activities:

Still trying to get in touch with witnesses who are in the red. For those who are not familiar with what I am talking about here, those are witness servers that are not producing any blocks. Dead. Out of action, no longer up and running and whatever other description can be used to describe a server that does NOTHING!

Will do an after action report (AAR) on this once I feel that I can no longer keep trying to get in touch with people who just ignore the messages in their inboxes.

It was a busy week for me on the community side of things, ANZAC Day was a big day for me as a Steemian, apart from my post for The ANZAC Day Project (organized by @ravenruis) I also announced two upvote services for communities that I am a part of: @anzub and @umvbot.

Feel free to go and check out the intro posts on the listed profile walls.

Also attended The Witness Show, which was organized by @shadowspub.
This is an excellent show, because every Witness can participate and so too can any Steemian!

Yes, if there is no place for representatives of their voters to say their piece in the system, in comes @shadowspub to the rescue by making it happen on the radio!

Hoorah! For Freedom Of Speech!

& Three cheers (or beers) to @shadowspub for making this happen!

Here is the link to the relevant post:

The Witness Chat From Saturday April 21st

Although time flies past like a rocket, I am working on some new projects that shall further help expand the overall experience for Steemians. Might not be a superman type of character but I am working away. Step by step and always keeping in mind "If we all pitch in, it adds up to a lot".

Appreciate your time, thanks for reading my 'weekly' update.

Yours gratefully

@jackmiller

Sort:  

You’re doing a great job Jack.
I expected nothing less when you started as a witness.
Keep it up mate.
TP

Agree with TP. You are doing a great job Jack. Your commitment to charity is great too. I see you have moved up the ladder - 77 now. Well deserved.

DQmRad4UzheroAvCKkjvxmeSUX9uqNJXWEKzHjNGy6U4Xym_1680x8400.png

Nice work Jack. I can't imagine how much behind the scenes work would be required for a witness job.

It all really depends I guess.

Some people set up a server and leave it at that, others are programming, others are heavily into the communities and the list goes on.

If I'm not mistaken in my numbers, 8 of the top20 witnesses have a FULL RPC Node running too, which means that part of their earnings are being reinvested back into ensuring we get what we voted for: A reliable Steem blockchain experience!

So, you could say that there is a lot going on behind the scenes, I'm learning the ropes still, young fella!

Man do I love that "Young fella" :)

Great work your doing for us thank you. And thanks for the update.

Thank you for the update @jackmiller. I wish more witnesses would do this. Sounds like you've got everything under control. Good luck with it! 😊

Beep! Beep! This humvee will be patrolling by and assisting new veterans, retirees, and military members here on Steem. @shadow3scalpel will help by upvoting posts from a list of members maintained by @chairborne and responding to any questions replied to this comment.

Excellent work @jackmiller, Thanks for all those efforts that benefit us all in the nation of esteemit as you call it. Greetings and blessings!

Thank you for all your hard works, I really appreciate it. I hope you will get plenty rewarded for it. And I've been enjoying anzub as well, so I will vote you :D.

-upvoted-

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.026
BTC 56989.27
ETH 2425.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39