You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: HF20 – the afterglow

in #witness-update6 years ago (edited)

well said... I think these guys would all do much better if they quit trying to spin. They didn't give anyone a warning that all these freakish things would happen ahead of time, so my guess is they had no idea this would happen. I don't think its the end of the world, but come on don't tell me everything is going to be great now because of it. I'd have a lot more respect to see people in charge say, we screwed up and here's how we're going to (or have) fix it.

ps... I'd vote you but I'm afraid I will get locked out of voting for 4 more days since I have no idea of what happens next (and not sure anyone else does either).

Sort:  

Hey, @davemccoy.

Well, they certainly didn't outline it or say it in so many words, but the update on the eve of the hard fork did say in no uncertain terms that there would be a lot of things they couldn't possibly predict happening.

So, I'm not happy, I wish they could have told us more—I wish it wouldn't have happened this way—and they did make a mistake and then own up to it with the voting power snafu.

This other, the resource credits change over, sounded like it was going to cause issues no matter what. The patch on the negative RC could have been deployed sooner since they did seem to anticipate that.

Anyway, not trying to steal your thunder or even be contradictory. I think this proved to be a hard fork that was a little too big, and that said, even if they'd pared it down and implemented things over time, the resource credit change over from bandwidth may still have been a problem.

You know way more than me... My point is that I can smell spin when I see it. I don't like it either. That's all. You know the bigger issues, I have no idea if it will be better or worse soon.

Well, I'm not sure what I know more of and what I don't, but I agree, they're spinning it like a cyclone. The title changed on one of their posts from HF 20 Successful to HF 20 Completed, or something like that, after some people who could comment caught them for using successful. Some other posts in general support of what was going on early into it said "some people" were having problems interacting after the hard fork. That got pushed back even harder.

I guess we just have to keep them on their toes. I mean, no one likes negativity, but for me, like you've said here, it's best to just own up, take the blame when something goes wrong even if there's not a thing to be done about it, and make the experience better next time.

agree completely... what's done is done... now tell us that you learned from it, not that you think its great...

Sadly they don't realize how stupid they look to the few people that have stuck around and like this place for what it could be. We are trying to help, but they really are tone deaf. I'm not mad and not going to revolt over this, but as an observer I think its pitiful to watch.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
SBD 2.55