HF20 – the afterglow

image.png

The Steem blockchain has done it again. We forked pretty successful and stable (but not in the way intended, if you see voting power and resource credits).

There was a warning for this fork: https://steempeak.com/steem/@steemitblog/hardfork-20-what-to-expect-tomorrow and it seems that it came true. There are issues and they continue till now.

First problem: negative RC mana

see steemitpost for this: https://steempeak.com/steem/@steemitblog/hf20-update-hardfork-successful

The new resource credit system is a great addition to the blockchain and I hope that it will give out resources more fairly. But the transition to the new system was not at all smooth. The idea was to initialize everyone with 90% of the maximum resource credits so that users could immediately transact. But the blockchain factored in actions before the fork which meant that many more active users found themselves with negative mana (sure it is easier for small SP holders to run out but everyone can be affected, many whales had negative mana).

There immediately came the patch v0.20.3 that most witnesses already updated to. But RPC nodes are not yet patched and will not pass transactions to the witnesses, meaning most frontends will still not work. We are hoping to have that change over the next few hours when more people update.

Second problem: voting mana reset

see steemitpost for this: https://steempeak.com/steem/@steemitblog/update-on-unexpected-voting-power-behavior

The new voting mana system is very interesting for app developers and fixes a few edge cases where tricky users could basically vote with more than they had. But this transition was also a bumpy one. Basically, all the voting power that people saved up was zeroed. If you had 80% before the fork, you started at 0. But it was reset from the last vote you made. So if you did not vote the last day, you started with 20% again.

There is no fix to this. Some users lost some voting power and some don't. I personally started at 0% and will have a few days of not curating as much to let my power build back up. Sucks but so is development, edge cases happen.

Improvements

see steemitpost for this: https://steempeak.com/steem/@steemitblog/steem-velocity-hardfork-hardfork-20

I am looking forward to the new changes in action. The RC system and the mana system will both allow frontends new ways to show users all their data and I hope they will make use of it. The discounted account system is already being tried out by account creators like @blocktrades and will soon be used to onboard even more users. The witnesses will monitor the rate of new accounts and start discussing the parameters of this system after they saw it live in action.

My actions

I reviewed some of the code of hf20 but with all the witness ranks I lost the last weeks I could not give it as much attention as I would have liked. I used the time waiting for replays to setup a development environment for steem and will soon work myself into the blockchain code. I plan to submit many patches to the code and also review new forks more thoroughly. But unless being a witness can pay me full time, I won't be able to full time work on things. There are many users asking for what witnesses to vote and who is at fault for the problems. And these questions are not easy to answer. But I can say that I monitor my witness votes all the time and vote for witnesses I feel are helping the network immensely. So maybe see my list and compare it with your list ;)

As always, any questions to anything on steem, hit me up in the comments!


image.png


image.png

Sort:  

More people involved in reviewing the code will be beneficial for everyone. Although I am not involved in any kind of blockchain coding, I am looking forward to seeing people like you guard the blockchain :)

I first need a lot of learning but I am planning to document all of my findings in utopian posts of course ;)

I believe that @utopian-io will be glad to see your findings and journey in reviewing the Steem code. I guess we could get even @elear and see what he thinks about that.

thank you. May I ask how people were voting with more than they had? I am confused.

woah... steemit works again?!

Congratulations! Your post has been selected as a daily Steemit truffle! It is listed on rank 17 of all contributions awarded today. You can find the TOP DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS HERE.

I upvoted your contribution because to my mind your post is at least 4 SBD worth and should receive 189 votes. It's now up to the lovely Steemit community to make this come true.

I am TrufflePig, an Artificial Intelligence Bot that helps minnows and content curators using Machine Learning. If you are curious how I select content, you can find an explanation here!

Have a nice day and sincerely yours,
trufflepig
TrufflePig

making it harder to do things seems like a bad idea

making it harder to do things seems like a bad idea
meme17.jpg

Hey, @raggaemuffin.

Okay. So patch was deployed but then we needed to wait for RPC nodes to update. When I originally started to write this comment it was 22 hours after the hard fork went into effect. I was unable to do anything on STEEM until about 2.5 hours ago.

I am also looking forward to seeing how things work. I’m glad some of us have been able to at least post and keep the rest of us apprised of what’s going on and what they’re experience has been so far. That at the very least is helpful.

I had hoped things would be fixed and ready to go overnight, but obviously that did not occur. And since my voting power was hit big time with just one small upvote, I'm now waiting for that to recharge after losing 80% of it.

well said... I think these guys would all do much better if they quit trying to spin. They didn't give anyone a warning that all these freakish things would happen ahead of time, so my guess is they had no idea this would happen. I don't think its the end of the world, but come on don't tell me everything is going to be great now because of it. I'd have a lot more respect to see people in charge say, we screwed up and here's how we're going to (or have) fix it.

ps... I'd vote you but I'm afraid I will get locked out of voting for 4 more days since I have no idea of what happens next (and not sure anyone else does either).

Hey, @davemccoy.

Well, they certainly didn't outline it or say it in so many words, but the update on the eve of the hard fork did say in no uncertain terms that there would be a lot of things they couldn't possibly predict happening.

So, I'm not happy, I wish they could have told us more—I wish it wouldn't have happened this way—and they did make a mistake and then own up to it with the voting power snafu.

This other, the resource credits change over, sounded like it was going to cause issues no matter what. The patch on the negative RC could have been deployed sooner since they did seem to anticipate that.

Anyway, not trying to steal your thunder or even be contradictory. I think this proved to be a hard fork that was a little too big, and that said, even if they'd pared it down and implemented things over time, the resource credit change over from bandwidth may still have been a problem.

You know way more than me... My point is that I can smell spin when I see it. I don't like it either. That's all. You know the bigger issues, I have no idea if it will be better or worse soon.

Well, I'm not sure what I know more of and what I don't, but I agree, they're spinning it like a cyclone. The title changed on one of their posts from HF 20 Successful to HF 20 Completed, or something like that, after some people who could comment caught them for using successful. Some other posts in general support of what was going on early into it said "some people" were having problems interacting after the hard fork. That got pushed back even harder.

I guess we just have to keep them on their toes. I mean, no one likes negativity, but for me, like you've said here, it's best to just own up, take the blame when something goes wrong even if there's not a thing to be done about it, and make the experience better next time.

agree completely... what's done is done... now tell us that you learned from it, not that you think its great...

Sadly they don't realize how stupid they look to the few people that have stuck around and like this place for what it could be. We are trying to help, but they really are tone deaf. I'm not mad and not going to revolt over this, but as an observer I think its pitiful to watch.

I believe the Top 20 have a share of responsibility for what appear as insufficient testing. A bit less "group think" in the Top 20, caring more for the users would help the community.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 59536.13
ETH 2366.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53