Witness Update - First Block - Updated to v0.19.3


Witness Update

It has been almost two weeks since my witness announcement post and it has been a rough start. I've slowly started to pick up votes and I'm currently ranked #152, sitting there among some inactive witnesses.

Witness Rank

BiGGaDiCKa spam

Considering the spam "attack" earlier this week, the timing for starting my witness and the timing for my first block could have been better. The spam was linked to crafted custom JSON transactions with an abnormal big size.

bigga spam transaction

This caused the majority of all nodes to fail, forcing a restart to get back to normal operation. I had restarted my witness once but was hit again in the second attack, just a short while before my first block was scheduled. I didn't spot it in time, so my first block was a miss before I managed to restart. Not the best of luck, but I guess that is just life...

I'm running docker, based on Steem-in-a-box from @someguy123. I put together a simple script that checks the health of my node and automatically restarts. Unfortunately, I didn't get this installed in time before my missed block. Here is the link to the gist containing this simple bash script.

Now version 0.19.3 is out so you should really upgrade to protect yourself, plus benefit from some other performance improvements. Again, if you are using steem-in-a-box, please see this update: steem-in-a-box 0.19.3.

First block

After the incident above I was back in action with my updated node. And today I finally managed to witness my first block.

Block: 21960256

Curious to check it out I opened the link above to browse the various operations. And this is the first thing I see:

First operation in block

Dear me!! 😂 😂 😂

I hope my future blocks will bring me some more decent content...


Please consider voting me as a Witness.

Vote for @danielsaori

SteemConnect Link

Steemit Link
Vote for danielsaori

Vote for danielsaori

Sort:  

🎉CONGRATULATIONS🎉

YOUR FIRST BLOCK IS DONE!!!
I don't fully understand everything to do with all this. But I know enough that I want to be invested. So I recently bought some graphics cards and started mining ethereum. Is there any way that I can help youwith what I have set up? Maybe by helping you"witness blocks"? I don't even know what that means.😁
But I did figure out how to mine ether, so if there is anything I can do to help you be successful, PLEASE LET ME KNOW. I love you brother for all that you do and who you are. Keep up the awesome work you're doing. We'll get you up that ladder. I'll see you around dear friend. And until then, may our Creator bless you and yours.

The steem and ethereum blockchains are quite different and there is no mining done on steem currently. A steem witness gets its rank from the votes received from other users on the blockchain, that type is called DPOS - Delegated Proof of Stake. I would suggest doing a quick google search to get a quick overview.

Thank you John for your support!
Take care and I hope to see you around.

Hi Daniel. It must be rough to miss your first block so early in your witness launch. From what I read on @yabapmatt's witness update post, many other witnesses also missed a block due to the spam attack. Matt received his "battle scar" with his 1st missed block too.

Your supporters will continue to show their support. Looking forward to seeing you rise up that list soon!

Thanks! Yes, a majority of all witnesses experienced the issue with missed blocks. As I had just started my witness I had a 100% miss rate. So that didn't really look good. But I'm starting to recover now and have had 2 good blocks since.

only steemit can change a life

You never met my wife! 😜

yeah but i hope your wife is healthy

luckily yes. And luckily she changed it in a positive way. :)

My regards to her. A good wife is worth more than jewels.

Not a easy start for you. It's a pity you have to experience all that but thank God you are able to witness your first block. I hope it will get better

Thank you! I hope so too. :)

hahahah.....Block: 21960256
claping my hands...next one is going to be better...or different

Takk!
I hope for something more decent, like a post about EOS reaching $100 or STEEM hitting $20.

Wohoo, recovered!

It felt like a windows blue screen.
But Yay for being back on track.

I think my luck would be the same as yours, so you're braver than I am. And yet another reason why I don't plan to be a witness. At least not for a long while.

Glad to hear you're back up and running though and witnessed your first block. Hopefully, that's the sign of good things to come. Especially if these attacks can be fought off through better security. It just seems so infantile and senseless for them to be happening. Other than bringing everything down, what were they trying to accomplish? Was there an ulterior motive for it?

Looking better now, 2nd block already signed. :)
I guess the attack was just to prove that it was possible to disturb the whole blockchain. They could have made it much worse by crafting many more of these messages.
With the latest patch, this type of attack has been mitigated so as long as a majority of all nodes are updated we are safe.

Thanks again for your support!

Surely, you next block will be decent and positive. You deserve the best.

I truly hope so. ;)
This was only one operation part of the block, but funny it was the first one in the list.

perhaphs first block...

Bad bad first block ;)

A bumpy start, perhaps — but now things are up and running. I am hoping good things for the "community based" witnesses we are now seeing on Steemit.

=^..^=

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64320.07
ETH 3154.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.34