Witness updates - My journey to become a Steem witness and other updates

in #witness-category6 years ago (edited)

As a backup witness currently at number 310 with only 16 votes means I still have a lot of work to do to get to the top 100. A few things I have done since my witness server went live is to upgrade my servers from a 32GB memory to 48GB memory because we are almost at 30GB and is just a matter to time. Here is my current specs 

  • MEMORY : 48 GB
  • vCPUs : 12 
  • SSD DISK : 960 GB
  • TRANSFER : 8 TB

compared to what I started with which you can find here  ( https://steemit.com/witness-category/@yensesa/vote-for-yensesa-as-the-new-backup-witness-from-ghana-africa )

I have also reached out @accra for their support and a few other active Steemians. I have a lot more reach-outs to do if I want to get to the top 100. 

Challenges

Currently my challenges have not been that much

1. I am using this script by @someguy123 (https://steemit.com/witness-category/@someguy123/steemfeed-js-a-nodejs-price-feed-for-witneses) for my price feed update. But for some wired reason, it keeps crushing from time to time, so I need to be monitoring and making sure that I occasionally restart it. A much more scalable way is;

  1. I find a different script 
  2. Write my own script 
  3. Write a bash script to automate the restart. 

If you are a witness, can you share what you are using or doing ... This is the type of error I get from time to time 

 SteemApi error: get_required_signatures [ { ref_block_num: 0,  ref_block_prefix: 0,  expiration: '1970-01-01T00:00:00',  operations: [ [Object] ],  extensions: [],  signatures: [] },  [ 'STMXXXXX' ] ] {} (node:17) UnhandledPromiseRejectionWarning: Unhandled promise rejection (rejection id: 10): Error: SteemApi error:get_required_signatures[objectObject],STM61tB8cPTWUc4G5zTWzRM51VqnKQdmijpDdqkQsRcYbrbkffWAa{} 

2. Getting votes I think will be one of the most difficult things. Other witnesses have repeatedly blog about ways they are doing it. I am going to follow some of their methods, come up with my own crazy ideas and see how those work out. 

Conclusion 

All in all I will say it has not been a bad experience, as I am learning a lot during this journey. Thank you and kindly remember to vote for @yensesa as a witness. I will keep posting my journey.

In order to vote for us you can go to:https://steemit.com/~witnesses  and enter  "yensesa" into the account text field and click vote. Or use steem-connect to vote directly for us as Steem witness!

Sort:  

nice goal I am trying to achieve it too.

be sure to cast your vote for @yensesa and join @accra so you can build your audience

nice goal I am trying to achieve it too.

Awesome @elijah-blogs keep me posted on your progress.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by blackman from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Congratulations on becoming a witness. I have my server up today.

For the crash of steemfeedjs, have a look at this and setup the Cron job
https://steemit.com/witness-category/@drakos/tips-and-guidelines-for-the-noob-witness-setup

Alright.. thank you for the link. Are you on discord? Which server, I can connect so we collaborate more.

This post has received a 0.20 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @banjo.

HAve you heard about @devfund ? check them out they could help @yensesa with its growth

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 55041.56
ETH 2459.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.18