You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Mandatory Witness voting/proxy to allow users to keep posting/commenting

Not sure that I agree that it should be a mandatory requirement to use the blockchain, but I do think that it should be a much more prominent feature of UIs built on the platform.

I would love to see a big "Cast Your Votes For Witnesses!" message prominently displayed on the header of steemit.com and other sites which allows users to vote and also see information about witnesses/voting/DPoS/etc.

Sort:  

That is OK, we should not agree after 15 minutes.

I am from a country where you do not need to vote, so nobody cares and we have a political environment that is established enough to remain until they retire.

I currently live in a country where voting is mandatory for citizens, this is done so to protect the country by having all eyes on politics which has resulted in more law and order and corrupt politicians and ex presidents in jail.

Right now STEEM runs on the consensus from my homeland, vote if you want or do not vote if you do not want...

I think that in order for me to write to you, I need to vote for at least 5-10 witnesses just to unlock this very feature.

A message saying: You have to vote for witnesses to blog, comment or send a memo with your transaction. Click here.

Pros/Cons?

I think that mandatory voting will just cause people to randomly click on witnesses until they have enough to unlock whatever feature they want to use, which i don't think helps anything, and might even make things worse as @ura-soul pointed out.

I think it's ok, if not better, for people who don't care to not vote. The issue isn't how many people vote, it's how many people care about voting and care who is running the government/platform/whatever that they are a part of.

I like to tackle problems piece by piece instead of making large changes all at once. I think the first and primary problem regarding people voting and caring about witnesses right now is awareness - most people have no idea what witnesses are or that they can even vote for anything.

So I think a good first step is to increase awareness and see how that goes before moving to more drastic measures.

I agree with @yabapmatt that without an increase in understanding of what witnesses do and how to choose one you support, the outcome may not be what an optimist might expect. Just having promo boxes on steemit to prompt people to go read an intelligently (and fairly) written informational page about witnessing with links for users to learn more and learn about the witnesses themselves - would be a great start.

Unfortunately, we can come up with nice ideas all day long but from what I am seeing Steemit Inc. are not particularly focused on delivering them anyway currently.

My suggestion is to maybe start up a profile/movement along the lines of @promo-steem that promotes witnessing to raise awareness. This would not rely on Steemit Inc. agreeing to anything or having to dedicate any resources. Witnesses could come together to upvote posts that promote witnessing in general and the posts would have to be neutral to ensure no one witness gets an unfair advantage.

I agree with @yabapmatt's ideas about not making it mandatory. I also agree with his idea to make it more prominent; the visibility would give more weight to just how important this component is.

yes a agree on the "Cast Your Votes For Witnesses!" message
like me a didn't now the meaning of Witnesses before a did some research on it. a think is a lot ho do not use the vote at all just because they do not know how or way the should

@norwegianbikeman, as a newbie, I didn't know that witness existed until some time later. And when I heard about it, I wasn't sure of whom I'd like to vote for. It took a fair amount of time to find someone to vote for.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64269.87
ETH 3393.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48