You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The present and future of Devcoin+STEEM integration

in #witness-category6 years ago (edited)

Those are good points and I agree that to use or not use that option is something that needs to be carefully thought through. I was merely mentioning it to make aware that it's an option. My observation is that Steemit is filled with vote buying of various kinds. There are lots of people with SP who do not feel like personally curating, so they delegate out their SP, and very often to the highest bidder. Minnowbooster.net serves as a way to bring people with SP to delegate connected with people who want more SP to boost their votes--I guess not connect the people, really, just get the SP traded for Steem payments. Anyway, like it or hate it, it's kind of the way Steemit is. And I would encourage this project to take its time in deciding how to approach things and what options to use.

I remember the self-upvoting dilemma. I personally don't have a problem with it, but enough people made it an issue and even programmed bots to punish self voters that I decided to quit upvoting my own comments, though I still upvote my posts when I write them.

Sort:  

Steem's supply is based on the Proof of Brain method of mining. Non-Brain Proof Mining causes counterfeit steem, in my opinion. Counterfeit causes inflation if not removed from the economy.

If one could delegate only one step and not be able to delegate delegations, it may put more Proof of Brain back in the mix.

Regardless if it is a good idea business-wise with perhaps having some ethical issues, a witness is a political beast as well as an admin. For that reason a successful one needs handle themselves differently than your average user.

P.S. These views are my own. This witness project is being run by another admin, as you would know @wiser, yet others may assume wrongly.

My understanding of delegation voting was mistaken. It seems that 'brokers' arrange an exchange. Pairs the delegators and delegatees only. Delegation can only be passed in that one step. So this is where Proof of Trust enters the picture. Never liked karma points yet they may have an unobserved purpose here. ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60115.56
ETH 3203.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46