Sort:  

& upvoting yourself looks good when you post negatively of others...

Indeed, I upvoted my own comment to make it visible as the top comment. It's cheeky and I don't do it often (and when I do it, I usually spend only 1% voting power to make my comment above most of the spam-comments, but still allowing others to curate the comments).

On Steem, people are quite concerned to come with criticism or opposing views, and there is an abundance of complimenting comments (for quite some of them it's even obvious that the complimenter didn't even care to read the article). At one hand, it's nice that open conflicts, ad-hominems, flag-wars and bitter arguments are rather rare at this platform, at the other hand I do think there is too few discussion going on. It may lead to echo-chamber effects and circle-jerking, where most people only bother reading things they agree on and avoid reading and commenting on things they disagree on. I find it very healthy when the most visible comment is a constructive criticism rather than the ordinary dull "great job!", "nice article!", etc.

In this case I felt that the spam was inappropriate and hence some kind of reaction was appropriate - like leaving a comment at the top of the article linked to.

Seeing the replies it seems like I'm quite alone on the opinion that this is "inappropriate spam". Either that, or out of all the people thinking it's "inappropriate spam", I was the only one actually bothering to follow it up.

Yes, inactive voters is most likely a problem, but I don't see the "wallet spam comments" making people much aware of it.

Great points! I like this spam as I only look at 10% or less and the little money sent adds up! Imagine if they used a bot to send to all 1 million accounts, would cost 1,000 sbd or my decimal off?

probably you’re not the only one. Thanks for speaking out loudly and giving your input.

My promo script works like this:

  • listen account witness vote operations
  • if the voter has free slots, send a memo about my witness campaign.

There are a couple more checks (one memo for one user, etc.)

I do it because witness voting is underrated on the network. @freedom and a few whales decides which witness should be on top50.

More minnows, mote dolphins vote - than we have a healthy network about witnesses.

I am sorry you feel kinda spammy about me however I am doing it for the awareness.

I do it because witness voting is underrated on the network.

That may be a valid point, it's nice to bring around some awareness. Anyway, I've delegated my witness votes but still got spammed.

I didn't consider it as spam at all. I considered it as a new witness reaching out.

  • I think it's sad a muti-million $ corporation like Steemit, Inc. does such a poor job on their witness page.
    • Only listing 50 without pagination to the rest.
    • Allowing dead witnesses to be on the listing.
      • Check some of @ura-soul's posts about this situation. They are eye opening.

How would you recommend a new witness get noticed?

  • spending big bucks to get on the trending page?

I'll give you my witness vote since I'm not doing anything with them. And I don't think it's a spammy idea at all to promote yourself. If not you, then who?

I think its a great way to let people know what you are up to. Its super passive and non intrusive.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 54370.47
ETH 2283.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33