Witness Progress Report: Insta-RPC for App Developers

in #witness-category7 years ago (edited)

After


quite some irritating delays and errors and blah blah blah... I am at last finished a task I set for myself and you can enjoy it.

Insta-RPC

is a build script that you can use to build and configure steemd correctly to run as an RPC node, it has the following plugins and APIs enabled:

enable-plugin = raw_block account_history follow market_history private_message tags

public-api = database_api login_api market_history_api tags_api follow_api

and I am hosting a highly compressed image of the complete witness_data_dir that I made this morning, and the script automatically installs it. The script has the option of building for Ubuntu 14.04 or 16.04, sorry no others just yet (I only use Ubuntu pretty much).

Note: I have discovered that built on Ubuntu 14 because of the compiler difference you can't use the same shared memory file. I am working on making this into a docker so this problem doesn't exist.

More information can be found here: https://projectinception.lt/#steemcache

Shoutout to @faddat who asked about the torrent which I took down. No need for it anyway my server is on a gigabit connection.

Immediate Next Steps

I am now in a position to start working on the Sybil Workshop, it was a bit of a mission to learn how to configure nginx webserver and I am still ironing out any possible wrinkle with the proxy setting for the steemd seed node connection (I am presently downloading the insta-rpc so I can run it locally on my laptop) though ostensibly it works (It may not because of the proxy being wrongly configured).

The web page can now be seen at this address http://q4dcttyxfeqfgeka.onion/#steemcache on the Tor network as well, a key step in the process of building this. The Sybil Workshop (and later, Steem Laundry) pages will not be accessible except through Tor, so I have also to learn how to control this in Django so the bright web just sees some friendly instructions on how to access it through Tor, but then through Tor, you can order anonymous user accounts and eventually also transfer money to another user without it being possible to positively make an account of who paid who.

So, first, the sock-puppet factory!

Witness Policies

I have now fully been brought up to speed on how to configure my feeds and I discovered that I had negative confused with positive though I had decided to set it at zero anyway. But now I am setting a rate of -1% ($1.01 worth of Steem for your SBD). According to my median calculator script zero is the current premium so you lose nothing to unwrap the Steem from within SBD (that you could buy on the internal market or from an exchange). Hopefully soon a couple more Witnesses will agree to put this discount level on soon and you will get a little compensation for your effort.

I am also of course with the looming Forkening to ensure that when the deadline comes my node is up and ready to vote by its upgrade. I am still on my trainingwheels with this a little bit but I am picking up speed fast.

Thanks to everyone for their support helping me get this up and running!

😎


We can't code here! This is Whale country!

Vote #1 l0k1

Go to steemit.com/~witnesses to cast your vote by typing l0k1 into the text entry at the bottom of the leaderboard.

(note, my username is spelled El Zero Kay One or Lima Zero Kilo One, all lower case)

Sort:  

Sweet! I am curious to see what happens, so exciting!

Thank you for posting @l0k1.

Your updates are very interesting and Steemians appreciate your endeavours.

Wishing you and the best. Cheers.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 58625.96
ETH 3101.66
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41