The Technical Future Of My Witness

in #witness-category6 years ago (edited)

The-Technical-Future-Of-My-Witness.png

As some of you know, many witnesses are starting to cease being a witness due to the server cost and the low price of STEEM. Our servers need to have more RAM available than is required to run the witness software and this pushes us into more and more expensive hardware.

This resource cost is even more of a problem for new work nodes, and there seems to be no fix in sight. At least from the standpoint of a sub 50 witness like myself. So I need to take measures into my own hands and find a way to make my hobby of witnessing more cost-effective.

If and when the price of STEEM is high, and on the moon, there is no problem paying a monthly fee since we can earn value from creating posts. When Steem was $4 USD, it only took 27.5 STEEM per month to pay for a 64GB server from @privex.

That is a few days worth of blogging for me and is not hard to earn over the course of a month. Now that STEEM is much cheaper it takes a lot more saving to reach the same goal. To me, this is why many witnesses are dropping out of the game.

Like myself, they started up their witness server when the price of STEEM was high, and the cost of the servers was a bit lower than they are now. Then everything changed after the first of the year like it usually does in cryptocurrency and we get left out to dry.

I could always power down enough to end up with the needed amount of STEEM to meet the payment. However, since I have the goal to be a dolphin by the end of 2018 I would rather not. Powering down as much as I earn from witnessing is the other option but will not be enough on its own, since I receive less than one Steem Power a day.

To help combat the instability in the cryptocurrency scene I have chosen to build my commercial grade server in my home. I have the bandwidth and speed to do so without a hitch. Having a server in my house that I can expand the RAM with a one time purchase makes the most senses.

jrswab-new-server-rig-home-lab-for-steem-blockchain.jpeg

Buying A New Rig

I have a home server that mines Monero, runs the blockchain for Monero, hosts IPFS files, runs my Nextcloud instance, and is my VPN. It does a lot for the little machine it is, and I am more than happy with how it performs. I do plan to keep it for all of these tasks as well as other cool projects I may come across.

However, I am not able to run a Steem Witness on the hardware because the motherboard can not expand its RAM to above about 32GB. This server is it is not commercial grade hardware, and when I built the machine, I had no idea what Steem was let alone want to be a witness.

As mentioned above, I am now looking into commercial grade rack servers to place in my home. These servers need to be able to expand well into the future for the RAM required over the coming years. This stuff is not cheap, but I will have much more flexibility than I do now.

The Hardware

Here is the price of the hardware I plan to save for over the next few months. All prices are in USD, and I will have to cash out some STEEM to make this happen, but it's all for the good of the network!

  • 1 x 6 Unit Server Housing: $60
  • Extra 64GB of RAM: $200
  • 1 x Dell PowerEdge R910: $650 (shipping included)
  • Dell PowerEdge R910 includes:
    • 4 x Intel Xenon X7550 (8 cores / 2.00GHz)
    • 16 x 4GB PC3-10600R Ram (64GB Total)

Total Price With 128GB of RAM: $910 USD
Total Price With 256GB of RAM: $1390 USD

There are cheaper servers out there such as the Dell PowerEdge 810 but the big difference the amount of RAM it can use. The PowerEdge 910 has 64 slots for RAM with a maximum of 2TB that it can utilize. Whereas the 810 maxes out around 512GB of RAM.

Spending the money upfront for scaling is needed for this type of project. The cost seems a bit outrageous but all this server has to do is last me a year's time, and the price will be lower than renting a server.

That is even without the upgrade to 128GB of RAM with that upgrade cost and monthly payment this server will save me money in about six months worth of time. Sounds like the best bet for someone like me who loves this kind of stuff.

Here Goes Nothing...

Welp there you have it, the plan to move my witness server to a more sustainable solution for the tech-savvy, non-rich guy I am. If you want to help out and donate to this project, please let me know. I will be more than happy to work something out. Be it profit sharing or another means of thank you I'll be thrilled to know there are people out there looking to help keep the Steem blockchain decentralized.

Thanks For Reading!

All images came from royalty and attribution free sources unless specified.

Looking to take your Steem based creations to the next level?
Join us over at the Creators' Guild Discord group! We are here to encourage, support and increase the creation of quality content.

If you have any questions about the future of Steem
or my witness please feel free to message jrswab#3134 on Discord.

vote-jrswab-for-steem-Witnesses—Steemit.gif

Click here to vote with SteemConnect!
Or go to https://steemit.com/~witnesses
You can see all active witnesses on @drakos' steemian.info


Looking to support my content creation efforts outside of the Steem Blockchain?
Check out jrswab.com/support

smart-steem-gif

Sort:  

I've had the same thoughts, however the consistency of my internet connection is what keeps me from pulling the trigger. What are you using for that?

I use Verizon Fios and my uptime is 99% over the past few years I have only had a few times where I lost connection and had to actually call them up. Also the speeds are very stable and they match the upload speed to the download speed which I now can not like without.

I got you on my daily upvote list mate, hope this few cents help. Thanks for updating about your witness.

If you could get some solar panels going the price would further decrease... maybe steal your neighbor's wi-fi and electricity xD
What are the specs of the current machine you are using to mine monero? Is it worth? I only have a gtx970 so it's not worth for me to mine any coin, unfortunately ...
Being a witness is hard and very expensive, that's the main thing that deters me from actually trying...

I am not mining Monero at a profit but since my home server is on all day not doing anything other than waiting for me to access files I may as well use it to mine. It's just CPU mining at this point.

Ohhh well, that makes sense!!

Good luck JR! And if worse comes to worst, you could always use the server for other things. Because it'd be there, physically. Not like it's going away.

Though, you didn't account for a year's cost of electricity :D

it'd be there, physically. Not like it's going away

Yes that is another plus to having it in my home. I can use it for anything if I choose to stop being a witness.

you didn't account for a year's cost of electricity

haha yeah, it is cheap where I live and I'm already using a bunch for everything else I have. But I should look it up to see what kind of power it will draw.

Looks like fun! I'm so jealous!!!

not that my parents would let me run a server in their house anyway :P

hahaha! That is one of the perks of being an adult with your own house xD

Someday! Just 3 more years of college...

We'll see how big I can grow my Steem account before then ;) Meanwhile I'm limited to Pis...

That is a good solution @jrswab, please keep us updated on how it goes.

Hi @jrswab ,

it is always a pleasure to read your posts, I think they are the only post related with IT, Computer, etc, in the technology tag.

From my experience working as a cloud provider, I can recommend Supermicro Server, so far they have good components and support for a lot of RAM.

All the best

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58613.96
ETH 3153.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43