You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Setting Up A Linux VPS Securely (Pt.1) - Join Me On My Journey to Become a Witness

Hey mate,

I just want to point out that changing an SSH port won't do anything for the security of your access. It's trivial to find what ports are open and what they are used for.
I'm just saying that so people won't think that now they are safe from hackers. It's way more dangerous to think you are safe than to be on your toes.

Sort:  

I didn't say they would be safe just by changing their ports. All it does it make it less obvious by not using the default port 22. An extra step.

I know you didn't. But some people might think that so I just wanted to point it out :).

Hehe, ok. But I also said it was optional, since it's not that big of a deal. The other steps are not optional in my opinion.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 59880.83
ETH 2301.55
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50