jesta witness update - 2016-09-16

in #witness-category8 years ago (edited)

What an awesome, unexpected, crazy week of activities. Last Sunday I broke into the top 19 witnesses while I was working on a feature for steemdb. At first I thought "wait, what?", and figured that I broke something or corrupted my local database. After double checking the live version of steemdb and steemd, confirming the change, my priorities for the week shifted slightly.

My focus has very much been on fortifying and improving the witness infrastructure I manage.

As a result, I now have dual witness nodes running in different data centers to provide redundancy and protect against outages. I also have spent a large chunk of the small amount of time I have at night working on tools to help me keep an eye on these servers. With how busy life's been recently, I needed the new tools to help me ensure their stability.

I'm honored to be voted into the top 19 and will continue contributing to the best of my ability. Thank you all for the votes and encouragement.

1. Accomplished the week of 2016-09-16:

  • Finished and published my proposal for the steem bounty system. I haven't touched the concept since, but the work I've been doing on custom comment transactions may lead to further developments on additional features for this program.
  • Created a python script to monitor witnesses that are missing blocks. I've also configured it to post messages to steemit.chat, and am awaiting the creation of a channel so I can direct it there. If any mods could give me a hand creating a channel (#witness-blocks), I'd appreciate it!
  • Started working on a python/piston script for automated hot swapping of witness signing keys after missing a certain number of blocks. This is yet incomplete, as the witness_update operation isn't supported by piston yet. I have the operation written for piston, but need to figure out how to properly integrate it into python-steemlib. You can see my journey in #piston on steemit.chat if you'd like to help.
  • Started working on additional operation types for piston that allow for custom transactions (like you see with the "100% SP Rewards" option on posts).
  • Setup a second witness node as a hotswap backup with a different signing key.
  • Updated my witness node to 0.14.1 for 24 hours of testing, have since reverted to 0.13.0 in anticipation of 0.14.2 being released soon. Managed to miss 2 blocks the first time I tried the hot swapping of nodes, whoops.
  • Spent Sunday/Monday working with my business partner on our business plan. We have a ton of solid documentation thus far, and a pretty great narrative. I'm getting really excited to share it all.
  • [steemdb] Witnesses row colors now change red if the price feed is older than a week.
  • [steemdb] Improved load time by optimizing some of the calls to steemd.
  • [steemdb] Added cli_wallet commands for voting/replying to each post on the site.
  • Nagged my business partner yet again to introduce himself. I'm going to start making up funny reasons from week to week now for every week he doesn't. Fair warning good sir.

2. Upcoming projects/goals

  • I've had a few requests for APIs on steemdb for some other peoples projects. It's my #1 feature request right now and I plan on getting them deployed live and announcing them soon. They'll be available for everyone to use how they see fit.
  • Being ready for the potential HF on the 20th, ready to test 0.14.2 over the weekend, and help get everything ready as much as I can.
  • I found a basic boilerplate (thanks to @fabien) to get started with react, as well as examples from his code to get me started. I plan on spending some time getting an initial project setup for what could potentially be the next steemstats.com.
  • I've been thinking more and more about steempress and how exactly I could add additional methods of control to the engine using the blockchain. I've got some ideas using a few of the new features coming down the pipe for steem, I'm planning on investigating these options further.
  • Implement the witness_update operation into piston/python-steemlib so that I can finish my new failover script.
  • SMS Messaging is getting added to my missing block script, as a further enhancement to my witnessing efforts. By this time next week, anytime I miss a block, failover triggers, or my server goes down - I'll receive an SMS message to give me a heads up. Finally, a way to get away from my computer for more than just sleep.
  • One more week of contract work remaining, home stretch!

3. Thoughts from this week

We got a new feature on steemit.com this week, the option to receive 100% of your post rewards in Steem Power. I've been thinking a lot about this new found ability and really trying to find uses for it.

My initial reaction was that we should be highlighting whenever someone makes a post with this option enabled. An icon, a color change, something to let you know that the author of a post has enabled this option. Why? Because I feel there's an additional sense of trust that's conveyed by authors who choose this option. This likely isn't someone who is going to write a few posts this week, take the SBD, cash out and leave. It's someone who is willing to spend their time on steemit and take a long term investment instead of an immediate payout.

Now - I've heard the counter argument that "money is still money", and "you shouldn't trust someone more because they refuse liquidity", but I feel there's still something noble to this feature. I'm not sure where I fall on people using this feature, but it's something I'm going to try and pay attention to.

What do you think about the new 100% payout in SP option?

4. Previous week's update

Update for the week ending 2016-09-09

Finally, don't forget to cast your vote for witnesses here

Edit - Grr.. I meant to check the "100% Payout in SP" for this post to try it out. Figured witness updates might be a very good use case for them. Unfortunately you can't go back and change this after you've posted :(

Sort:  

Respect! Your work is impressive...whrn are you going full time? (I voted for you last week btw)
Somehow you were not in my follow list. Now you are!

Thank you! I remember my first week chatting with you on slack and getting some encouragement for whatever I was working on (maybe steemstats?). Hope all's going well ;)

After I finish this contract next week, my plan is to do steem related work full time starting in October. I've got a bit of a runway built to keep myself afloat. We'll see how successful I can be full time on these projects and how much of an impact I'll be able to make!

i love steemstats.com : )

thank you ; )

Voted. You are doing great job. I love your Steem Tools Steemstats and Steemb

You have my vote for this post and you already had my vote for your witness.

You are doing awesome work for Steem and I already notice that before you became top 19 so I'm glad a lot of other people notice it too.

Also thank you for the help on setting my price feed for my witness. I finally succeeded in setting it up.

I totally agree with the point #3 of your post. This is a very good idea. I hope to see this implemented.

It is people like you that keep the Steemit going. I am glad that an option has been given to writers to receive their reward in 100% steem power. Those who choose this option takes a long term view of Steemit. I agreed we should let the voters know if the writer has chosen this option. I will be more likely to give an up vote for those who had c hoosen this option

Your work updates are extremely impressive: )

I do like the new option to receive 100% steem power from posts. To me, this seems perfect for posts that are purely steemit-related. But I do not like the idea that those who decline to check this box may get no financially meaningful votes. To me, that would indicate that the steemit model is irreparably broken. In fact, I will pretty much quit the platform entirely if this is how things shake out - and just consider all the time and money I've put into it thus far a high-risk long term investment which has been sabotaged by our inability to maintain adequate cash flow while building our revenue long-term.

Thanks for what you do for steemit!

When I start posting again, I'll probably choose 100% payout in SP sometimes and the original way sometimes as well. Depends on how I feel on any given day. It's good to have the option though!

Perhaps "100% Payout in SP" should be enabled by default?

Ehhhhhh I don't know about that. I think it should be something you're opting into, not opting out of. Not exactly sure why I feel that way yet, but I do.

I have very mixed feelings about the feature ;)

How about the default could be the last option you took when submitting previous post? The value could be stored somewhere in steemit account settings. Then everyone's happy ;)

I'd love to see "steemit account settings" for stuff like this. I do think pre-checking it could cause problems for those who already think Steemit is a ponzi. Making it hard to get value out concerns people.

No! It's a lot worse to forget about it and expect SBD instead of SP than the opposite. You can very easily power up your SBD.

Well done! Btw, I voted for you on the witness list this week. Just think your steemStats site is so awesome too. Keep up the good work!

I totally agree with you. If someone is willing to take 100% SP, there should be something visible on the post to display to the community. I agree, it shows commitment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.13
JST 0.026
BTC 56904.92
ETH 2440.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.37