No more witnessing for Muxxy

in #witness-category6 years ago

4ab4b6df96c060fa741e97b50eafb07c_L.jpg
Source

My witness missed a few blocks today. It seems that 32Gb no longer cuts it and I would need to upgrade to a 64Gb server. I have considered my options today and have come to the decision to stop witnessing, for a few reasons:

1 - The setup fee for the new server, coupled with the increased monthly rate, is unfeasible for me currently.

2 - If you read THIS POST earlier this week, you'll know my physical and mental health are not at their best currently.

Thanks to everyone who has supported my witness. I'm sorry if I am letting you down, but I have to think of myself.



Spam comments WILL receive a flag, you have been warned.


Are you a writer or keen to learn? Do you wish to join a community of like-minded individuals who can help hone your writing skills in the fields of fiction, non-fiction, technical, poetry, or songwriting? Join us at The Writers' Block by clicking the logo below.

Sort:  

I’m sorry to hear that Muxxy.
You’re just the type of witness Steemit is screaming out for.
It’s a sad day my friend 😔

This is way of life. You know when to throw the towel.
Regroup and come back strong and healthy. Good luck.

Very sad for all of us, but anyone who knows you trusts your judgment. We totally get it. We support you in whatever decisions you make, including this one.

Well, I can think of one decision I'd fight you tooth and nail over, but we won't even talk about that. LOL

I’m sorry to hear that @gmuxx, both for your mental health and the end of your witness contribution.

Have you considered applying for @jerrybanfield @budget project?
https://steemit.com/witness-category/@jerrybanfield/100-steem-for-witnesses-below-rank-80

Also, if you have a low latency SSD you could set a SHM size of 48GB and it will swap a bit. Alternatively you could zram for memory compression. None of those are ideal for a witness node but might help coping a little bit more to see how it goes.

@gtg in this post tells you how to test your disk to see if
It can handle the traffic
https://steemit.com/steem-pressure/@gtg/steem-pressure-2-toys-for-boys-and-girls

zram on a witness node:

Sad to see you go man, never exchanged with you but @sircork has you in the greatest esteem and his friends are mine!

If you want, please hit me on the discord or steemit chat, there is no reason a good 32 server would not cope with the chain for a few more months, and i am more than willing to try to help there.

The chain scalability and RAM usage needs to be addressed before it is too late indeed as @drakos said, but this is an opportunity to get rid of those who are witnessing just to mine STEEM and give nothing back, we need to weed out the bad and let the good'uns thrive.

Once the bad ones have left, thanks to the increased traffic block will pop faster and with some luck a 64 GB will be on budget.

This sad Muxxy but do let us know which witnesses you're supporting!

You are not letting anyone down, for you have done so much good for the Steem platform in many different ways — not just through your witness work! It was a good run, and I wish you all the best going forward!

Best wishes Muxxy. Hit me up on Discord if I can help in any way.

Sad to see it come to an end, but as you say, the costs are increasing. It's a problem for scalability. In fact, the RAM usage needs to be optimized and fixed NOW before things get out of hand in the future.

Muxx, we support you, like Rhonda said. I hate that you have to make this choice now, but we support you. We miss you dreadfully.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 55258.26
ETH 2459.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.19