You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Steemchiller goes witness! Let's make Steem safe again ;)

Hi @steemchiller, it seems that the moment is indeed interesting for new witnesses on STEEM but I still wonder if it's worth investing in it since there is no visibility on what @justinsunsteemit wants to do for the future of STEEM. I think I'll wait until I have a little more info on where STEEM is going before making a decision, if the migration to Tron is still on the way, in which case the witnesses won't be useful anymore.

What documentation did you use to set up your server? Most of the documentation I know is very old and the Steem-in-a-box version is I guess doomed to become obsolete.

Sort:  

What documentation did you use to set up your server?

I've read all the available (old) guides and tried out different configurations. I don't want to use prebuilt containers or something like steem-in-a-box, because I prefer to learn how it all works by doing it myself. When all works stable, I will publish my own 'how to setup a consensus node' guides.

I created a bash script that downloads the latest stable source from github and builds steemd and cli_wallet automatically. It now all seems to work, the only thing I still need to find out is why my node reports the version 0.0.0 instead of the blockchain version that I'm running (0.22.5).

it reports 0.0.0. until you had your first block. Then it will display the version you are running.

Thanks for the information and for your useful SteemWorld 😉

Yes there is a little visibility. It's just that you have not looked in the right place just yet : )

I am feeling very confident. Sure when they dump their Steem on the market, the price will tank for a while, but the price will recover. And we will start to grow the amount of individual users again after three years. We have had bulk new accounts created and funded by Steemit inc only ever used for flagging. Now those accounts have been counted as users. Here is a small list associated to just one operator account there are a lot more but i just got bored collecting them but at least it gave me a good idea how many there are
@mandraki @grenilcu @brassir @artrilstev @rezdam @clirkliev @warzi @blickhil @dentbos @nedrykp @septima @moille @pfisbrem @arxiov @santfroo @azmgaird @catzib @zigonum @trimcor @inbort @trevtic @posfica @catrism @wraist @belegas @trimust @afsol @sercifik @merdujo @pollentic @seildo @lirdin @paeng @vreislo @qualistit @draesvum @kkoui @cheescer @chiomna @anstaf @afsol @zalimo @puabni @prodef @ezffermi @encuke @batird @borstad @azmiges @kzalembraz @frsicola

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.035
BTC 65090.19
ETH 3379.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.55