felixxx Witness Update 2017/06/18

in #witness-category7 years ago (edited)

Ready for HF 19

I just finished upgrading to v0.19.0 and I'm thereby ready for the hardfork.

( Tue, 20 June 2017 15:00:00 UTC (11:00:00 EDT) ).

I've signed the first block with the new version some moments ago.

For the update, I had to shutdown my witness to not miss any blocks while upgrading the server. Reindexing and replaying all blocks took a bit longer than I had expected, but all went well in the end.


I signal:

  • 0.5 STEEM account creation fee
  • 0% interest rate on SBD
  • no bias
  • 131,072 Bytes blocksize

I manage my pricefeed with conductor.
https://github.com/Netherdrake/conductor

My node has been operating smoothly for 2 weeks and I missed 0 blocks.


Some quick thoughts on HF 19

https://github.com/steemit/steem/releases/tag/v0.19.0

There are two main changes with HF 19

  • Linear Rewards

This topic has been discussed widely and I support the change.

  • Increase Vote Impact

This has not been discussed at all.
Like many others I don't really like this change.
There is no way to measure or analyze the impact of the changed reward curve, when we change the vote impacts at the same time.
I fear that with fewer votes per day, the incentive to vote outside of the usual circles will shrink further.
I see the same authors bagging in big rewards with every single post.
Given that this hardfork was labeled 'Equality', I don't think it will achieve its aim.
I fear the opposite will happen.

With the new hardfork, the infamous experiment will end and the whales can start voting with full force again. Many of them didn't seem to bother much with curation before, but just auto-voted for their favorite authors, creating inequality.

We will see how these changes play out ...

It's hard to predict, but I hope some whales take it on them to fight collusion.

I'd like to cite the Steem Whitepaper

[...] In fact, honest large stakeholders are likely to be more effective by policing abuse and using negative voting than they would be by voting for smaller contributions.


Let's hope for the best ...

Thanks to all the people, who voted for and support my witness !

You can vote my witness @felixxx here:

https://steemit.com/~witnesses

If you have any questions, or a nice project I could help sponsor, please contact me here:

https://steemit.chat/direct/felixxx

Sort:  

There is no way to measure or analyze the impact of the changed reward curve, when we change the vote impacts at the same time.

THIS is extremly important!
THX for pointing that out.

I'm not the first one to formulate this.
Check @aggroed's blog for example !

I actually love this changed reward curve :)
Congrats with your 1st forking success :D

To be honest, I'm a bit afraid! Sent people your way and mentioned you in my last post!

I'm not sure but I think that another problem of the increased vote impact could be a more abusive self-vote practice.

Nice, welcome online again.

You're right that the voting power increase hasn't been discussed at all. Making these two changes at once will be "interesting" to say the least.

I fear that the larger witnesses are to busy with all the other big, yet very important indeed, projects that they are running. Lets just hope for the best and enjoy the ride, what else can we small witnesses do.

It's been a Steemit Inc. strategy for as long as I watch this forking :D
They seem to always couple one popular change with one that they pull out their sleeve.
I don't understand, what that's about ...

Have fun with your witness experience and Steem on!

Thanks ! You too !

updating as we speak man. good job

Very good and helpful post. Got your info via the German community link and liked your post. Must all member upgrade due to the fork? following you in order to read more from you ...lets stay in touch.

No, only witnesses need to update.

Ok, thanks for your comment

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 62772.18
ETH 3032.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67