SBD Debt Ratio 10% Behavior

in #witness-category6 years ago (edited)

20180324_174711_0001.png

This post assumes you have an understanding of what is discussed in my post about SBD Printing Code Walkthrough.

Following up STEEM Rewards News Flash, I had stumbled upon this comment by @inquiringtimes which shows a conversation with @timcliff about what happens when the debt ratio hits 10%.

This is something I had read in the whitepaper awhile ago, but was never able to find, and for some reason I never followed up with someone who knew more about what was coded in the blockchain. My post about debt ratios had asked if anyone knew but it never reached the right folks.

I was referred by @inquiringtimes to this post which had the hint I needed about the price feed, though my searching skill was still lacking, and I was directed by @timcliff to the right spot when I asked in a github issue that discussed these caps (Sorry for the derail folks!)

And it's here

price min_price( asset( 9 * gpo.current_sbd_supply.amount, SBD_SYMBOL ), gpo.current_supply ); // This price limits SBD to 10% market cap
if( min_price > fho.current_median_history )
    fho.current_median_history = min_price;

If computed price in min_price is higher per STEEM than the median, it will replace it.

What is this computed price?

9 * sbd_supply / steem_supply

Note that if this is larger than the feed price, we have

9 * sbd_supply / steem_supply > feed_price

Let x = sbd_supply / feed_price be the SBD portion of the virtual supply and y be the STEEM supply. The virtual supply is x+y.

Then this condition is equivalent to

9x > y

and

10x > x+y

and

debt_ratio = x/(x+y) > 1/10

This condition is equivalent to exceeding the 10% debt ratio threshold.

Note that at this time, since we shut off SBD payouts at 5%, the only thing this adjusted feed price affects is the conversion rate. This protection has the effect of reducing the amount of STEEM you get per SBD using the conversion mechanism.

How much does it reduce it by? Well, for 1 SBD, you'd get

(1/9) * (1-d)/d * (1 usd worth of steem)

where d = x / (x+y) is the debt ratio.

When we are at exactly 10%, it's the same, but as the SBD portion of the debt increases, it steadily decreases. For illustrative purposes the relationship in table form looks as follows:

Debt Ratio dUSD worth of STEEM per SBD
<=0.11
0.110.9
0.120.81
0.130.74
0.140.68
0.150.63
0.160.58
0.170.54
0.180.51
0.190.47
0.20.44
0.30.26
0.40.17
0.50.11
0.60.07
0.70.05
0.80.03
0.90.01
10

The reason I have this in terms of USD is to illustrate where the effective peg moves to as the price feed jumps off the intended peg of 1 USD. Thus, this can be read as saying that if the debt ratio is 20%, the blockchain code will only give you 0.44 USD worth of STEEM if you convert. And in this scenario, the conversion mechanism should not be used unless 1 SBD is < 0.44 USD.

The other point is that if mass conversions happen, the debt ratio becomes lower, and that increases the amount of STEEM you would get on conversions (in this regime). An interesting dynamic.

Remember, in situations like now where the market price of SBD is > 1 USD, none of what I am saying here matters, because the conversion mechanism will lose you money (and is turned off on the website).

Debt ratio factors

Just to emphasize the influential factors here, the following influence the debt ratio:

  1. Steem prices. Because the crypto market is volatile, this can change the debt ratio quite quickly, as we have seen recently.
  2. Payouts. Of the steem inflation, some percentage is allocated to rewards, and half of that (at most) is converted to SBD.
  3. Conversions. A conversion event destroys SBD and creates Steem.

What does it all mean?

To most of you, this means absolutely nothing. But if Steem price tanks to lower levels, with SBD as well, then there may be a time when this information becomes relevant.

However, this information, as well as the aforementioned debt ratio protections as the ratio exceeds 2%, need to be taken into account when discussing any monetary policy.

There's discussion about removing some of these behaviors, but that requires knowing why these protections were put into place to begin with. I originally planned to write my understanding of this but found that I was not satisfied with my understanding about this. So I will leave it to a later post and follow the witness discussion about this.

Sort:  

What does it all mean?
To most of you, this means absolutely nothing.

Lol. Hi @eonwarped to the past. I'm here after 8 month thanks @tcpolymath, learning about debt ratio and the mechanism of this platform. Thanks for share your knowlege dude. I understanded the 000.1% what you wrote, but I learned anyways and I'm happy for that.

Thanks for this. Most people don't appreciate why the 10% ratio was there in the first place. Its refreshing to see this is the action kick in when its is exceeded. Its in the interest of the long term stability of steem itself.

Yes I agree that this is a good check, and is motivated for the right reasons. We'll see how the witnesses react to the recent movements.

I'm so glad you still write on this from time to time. As I've said elsewhere, you are my Go-To Guy when it comes to explaining all the financial mysteries of Steemit. I'm always interested when a piece with your name pops up -- and since you said you love this stuff, it sounds like the Perfect Match.

I hope you're ok. I haven't seen you around much. You've said your work has you slammed a lot now. But there's a big eonwarped shaped hole in my day -- that you used to fill. It's calling your name.

The-STEEM-Engine

Dawww <3. Yeah a lot of distractions unfortunately. Maybe some you'll find out about in the near future ooooo....

What I don't understand is what's the SBD debt ratio? I think the post is written assuming we know already what it is... Not sure if I missed something

Ah sorry, I have now prefaced post with a good starting point. I think https://steemit.com/steem/@eonwarped/sbd-printing-code-walkthrough discussed the debt ratio adequately.

oh thanks, I'll read that. The subject seems interesting :)

yucks
i thought 5% was the ceiling, they had something else. hmm lower conversion ratio, i wonder how's that gonna impact.

Yeah, actually I believe this 10% was the main threshold, and the 2-5% was a gradual ramping down to this threshold. I think it makes sense to have from an intuitive standpoint of not wanting to flood the STEEM pool in a moment of crisis, though I admit I don't really understand the full effects of the economic safeguard that was put in place.

Anyway, for now, it doesn't matter. This post is probably not going to be relevant for a while....

thank for sharing your views. yeah unless we go down harder this probably won't be relevant for awhile

Yeah good to see the Tax Man back with another great post on the numbers!

Welcome back Eon! Yay!

I tried to understand. I really tried. You're still here though so my interpretation is that it's ok at the mo. Yes?

cheers
Mouth breather, Anj :D

Am taking a deep deep breath as well... lol. ♥

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 64450.12
ETH 3153.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52