New Feature Proposed: Feature: Auto-fill "title" and "body" fields when called with the proper query string

It sounds much more complicated than it is, but basically, what I want with this is an improvement that will make possible the creation of "Share on Steemit" (or "Steem It") buttons, in a Facebook/Twitter style.

I submitted an issue on Github, here's the content for the lazy ones:

In submit.html the form using ReplyEditor could be auto-populated with $title and $body if accessed like this:

https://steemit.com/submit.html?title=encoded_title&body=encoded_body

This will allow the creation and dissemination of FacebookTwitter-like share buttons which will make posting easier, by decorating the URL of the button with a scheme like above.

I think this is only a client / UI feature and it doesn't impact anti-spamming filters (throttling posting every 20 secs, etc) but a second opinion would be welcome.

If necessary, I can contribute buttons for creating a Steemit official "share on Steemit" or "Steem it" share button.

If you support this enhancement, please show it by voting on this issue on Github.


I'm a serial entrepreneur, blogger and ultrarunner. You can find me mainly on my blog at Dragos Roua where I write about productivity, business, relationships and running. Here on Steemit you may stay updated by following me @dragosroua.


Dragos Roua


You can also vote for me as witness here:
https://steemit.com/~witnesses


If you're new to Steemit, you may find these articles relevant (that's also part of my witness activity to support new members of the platform):

Sort:  

That's a great idea.
I think I just suggested it to some other fedora wearing dude earlier this morning. ;)

Yeah, that would be me, obviously. I thought about how it can be done, peeked through the source of the generated pages, realized it's not there (yet) so the logic approach was to submit it to the devs. If there will be enough interest, I think I can even get involved at the coding level, React is not a stranger to me.

Well, if STEEMit wants to be the crypto social network, it needs to have the SHARE button on it's own platform. Just sayin'

When I posted my "Where am I in the STEEMit world" post a short while ago, someone suggested that I do it every week to show how things were going. Not that I can get all the information from one app, but it would make it easier if I COULD simply share charts from different STEEMit apps to a STEEMit post, which I could cut out what I needed and then create the final post from those items.

Or... I guess if you have a ton of free time, you could create that single app. ;)

Or, @DeanLogic, you could give off your lazy programming butt and do it yourself.... I know, I know.

Or... I guess if you have a ton of free time, you could create that single app. ;)

That was hilarious :)))

See...it's fun to say that to someone else instead of hearing it from the business.

witness-me-gif-6.gif
A great initiative I hope you will succeed in the project. Upvoted and resteemed

Thanks, you got an upvote for the gif :))

ty :)

I don't know... doesnt this just pave the road for a lot of unoriginal content to be reposted multiple times...

imho, i am not sure if i'd like something like a "share on steemit" button

I personally think Steemit should open up more and become a real social media app. Right now it's a rather close circle of geeks, crypto afficionados, ancaps and weirdos (I'm a bit of every type, to be honest) and this lot is not specifically big, so to speak. Growth can't occur without opening, IMHO.

I am all for opening, making it more accessible and bring in people from all aspects of life... I just think that content on a platform like steem should be original... I don't see the value in re-publishing... But maybe it's just a different usecase?

What do you think will happen if anyone could re-publish content and get rewards here at the click of a button... (copy-pasta)^2 - that's what i am afraid of.

Republishing is happening already.

yeah... no doubt it is! And it doesn't always have to be a bad thing per se, but I'm just afraid a "re-post to steemit" function will bring a lot more of the crappy kind of re-posts...

It seems like a pretty good idea.
Would cheetah always hit it though if you share content as it will think you are plagiarising or will a link be generated which is put into a new post?

I've been wondering why Steemit didn't have something like that.
It's about time.

This will really be an interesting addition to steem. I wonder eventually what people will value Reddit style link submissions or story shares often accessed by the Facebook share button

That could be a great feature, also helping Steemit to get more users

Yep, totally in favour of this. Liking the way you're thinking about all this.

waw this is really great
upvote and resteem

Hi, has this been implemented?
I've seen one bookmarklet for steemit using this but it doesn't work for me :/

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 62134.65
ETH 3418.09
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51