Witness Update - DragosRoua

Technical and Economical

  • updated my witness node to version 0.18.2
  • updated my price feed bias, currently sitting at 0%
  • kept my SBD APR at 0% - SBD is still trading way higher than expected, currently at $1.89
  • kept the account registration fee at $3 (I use a script called steem witness toolbox, available for free on Github, for publishing the feed price and adjusting a few blockchain props)

Community

  • bumped Steem.Supply to version 0.1.3 beta, which means most of the features are already coded in the app and it crashes less frequently

Overall Position

As of last week, following a significant rearrangement of the votes of some powerful whales, I'm no longer a runner-up witness (not in the top 50) and I'm currently sitting at 68. A few freshmen were promoted in the top 50 and I'm happy for them. I do think the community needs more people who understand what it takes to run a witness node. If you still think I can be useful as a witness and if you want to vote for me, you'll need to add my username in the form and click "Vote" as shown in the image below:

Screen Shot 2017-06-05 at 10.18.55 PM.png

Thanks!


I'm a serial entrepreneur, blogger and ultrarunner. You can find me mainly on my blog at Dragos Roua where I write about productivity, business, relationships and running. Here on Steemit you may stay updated by following me @dragosroua.


Dragos Roua


You can also vote for me as witness here:
https://steemit.com/~witnesses

Sort:  

There is one thing I have noticed about witnesses:

The technical gets way too much attention. It is a paid job and everyone expects it to be done. The vision disappears every time the votes are collected and that's a shame. Why the fuck should I elect you? I don't know you. Why vote? Do you even care?

I'm ranting again. But I think you need to differentiate your proposal. To something human.

He he, thanks for the rant. If you look back in time you'll see that my community involvement was probably the higher among witnesses, with not one, but two 30 days writing and story-telling challenges (that's 2 months of daily writing and curating other authors and sometimes rewarding them out of my own pocket), with new voting experiments and a lot of support for newcomers.

But then again, you may not want to look, if you already took your decision.

Peace :)

Not at all! I have only been here three months so remembering even the 50 witnesses is impossible. It just showed up in my feed and I can't help but point out the lack of reason for running for witness. It is sadly very common that the version number ov the node is more important than the number of community support efforts. Which basically is just to show some interest.

I'm running a little competition in the creative community. Go and have a look, vote and spread the word:

https://steemit.com/streetart/@funkit/the-steemit-streetart-challenge

That's the way to be recognized.

Well, with all due respect, I feel like you don't really understand what is the primary function of witness. It's to validate transactions on the network. And the network has many types of transactions, from posts, comments and votes, up to literally trading on the internal market or sending and receiving money. It's fundamental for a witness to be able first to do this, hence the technical penchant.

As for asking me to vote for your competition - in order to be recognized and stand up in the community - I don't think it's going to work. Although I wish you all the luck and, if it gains some momentum and it's up my alley, I will gladly spread the word. I also want to point out that you should always indicate the source of your pictures (helps you differentiate from spammers and freeloaders who are just copy-pasting content from the internet for pennies).

And, most important, patience. It takes time to build an audience, being it your personal blog, Twitter or Facebook.

Steemit is not different from this point of view. What makes Steemit different is precisely its decentralized nature, the fact that it is actually ran by witnesses. That's why it's important to know them, follow them up and vote them. The network literally depends on them.

  1. I do not need to source my images. They are mine and I can use them the way I want. If I would use someone elses, I would state it.

  2. I do not run it for myself. I do it to show a wide variety of expression. Worldwide, in fact. And most of the participants are minnows.

If your images are yours, please state this. I'm not telling this for me, it will help you, in the long run.

As for your challenge, I looked at it, seemed interesting, up my alley so I upvoted and resteemed. Good luck with it! Just don't use this "transactional" way of interacting, people may feel that you're coming up too strong on them.

Thanks for the updates... is being a witness profitable?

Medium and long term, yes. It's also quite a lot of work in the beginning.

Who did you vote for witness @dragosroua ?

They're in top 50, I think you can see a list of them here. Scroll down to the end of the left col.

Let's get @dragosroua back up to top of witness list where he belongs! Rock On / STEEM On!

He he, thanks man, but it takes a lot of voting power to get there. Appreciate the support, though :)

There you go buddy, like your writing style and from your articles i expect you to be able to run a witness node quite competently.

Schermafdruk 2017-06-05 21.26.50.png

Thanks, appreciate it! :) I've been running a witness node for the last 3-4 months (with a one month hiatus, when I protested against an experiment), so I know what it takes.

If i might offer a suggestion; like many other Steemians i have only started to become active over the past couple of weeks. We do not know these things per sé.

You might want to market facts such as these a bit stronger to get these new guy votes!

Will do, already have a series of posts prepared for newcomers, and will include witness related facts as well. Thanks again.

thanks for sharing this, voted!

Thanks, appreciated!

Very informational! Thank you!! :) If you get the chance you should upvote my latest Daily Steemit Vlog! I do vlogs every day here on Steemit every day, Thanks! :) https://steemit.com/steemit/@parkermorris/steemit-daily-vlog-001

Congratulations @dragosroua! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published 4 posts in one day

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

If you want to support the SteemitBoard project, your upvote for this notification is welcome!

Oh hey, thank you for stating that we should provide the source of your images.

I take all of my photos, unless noted.

I am a hobby photographer, and I have had several photography jobs going back to 35mm and flashbulbs. LOL!

I was using tripods and timers way before selfies were even thought of being a trend.

Anyway, I am DAMN glad I found @dragosroua

Much appreciation!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66494.63
ETH 3508.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66