The Steemit streetART Challenge

in #streetart7 years ago (edited)

IMG_0975.JPG

Announcing: the steemit streetart challenge!

• Show the world the hidden treasures of your neighborhood!
• No skills required! Only a camera and a good eye!
• The winner gets all SBD generated from this post!

I have been thinking to do this for a while. And I think it is time to let the eagle-eyed steemians show what anonymous artists has done to decorate their neighborhood. The idea is to show everybody how much creativity that these anonymous individuals possess and appreciate the results. I have never participated in such activities, but I pass by the little girl in the image every time I go shopping. And it makes me think. That is in essence what good streetart is and the difference between tagging and art.

Rules:

  1. One entry per participant! The entry must be a reply to this post. If more images are required, add as many photos you like, but keep it within "your" entry. Add the location as text. 📬

  2. It must be your image. Cheaters or suspected cheaters will be disqualified. You do not need to be the creator of the work, though it would be cool if you were. 🎨

  3. You can vote for your own entry. You can also advertise for it by posting on your page, chatting about it or by collaborating with your friends.

  4. Resteem /reblog this post. This is required for a valid entry and highly recommended for everyone who thinks it is a good idea. 💡

  5. The people is the judge! The entry with the most upvotes, wins. Vote on as many you like. I will abstain from voting, but if a situation where two or more entries has the same number of votes, I will throw one vote to possibly judge a worthy winner. And if that fails by a last-minute vote, the prize will be split.

  6. Keep it clean! If you want to comment on something, do it under each entry, not as a new one.

  7. Advertise! More entries means bigger prize!

  8. The challenge is over one week from now. As soon as I possibly can, I will announce the winner and pay the prize money. 💰

This sounds like fun to me and I hope to see lots of cool 😎 images.

One tip to see the images better is to right-click them and open in a new window. Entries are starting to come in and it looks amazing!

Badge -snakkeboble Warnock .png

Sort:  

0_18809462_323157141451958_910535115451400192_n.jpg

Bellingham WA US - Popup Art Village located next to the Herald building ... hosted by Sustainable Connections, the Bellingham Re-store, some other lovely contributors I DONT know exactly who the artist is but I CAN find out if we're going to the moon

painted on a door

photograph i took personally yesterday along with some other info about the place

DSCF5279.JPG

I found this one in Wrocław on one of the islands in the city centre. It's a place were youth meets for a drink and picnic on the grass. I highly recommend this city to street art lovers. It's full of murals and graffiti in addition to its gnomes.

DSCF5281.JPG

I love this one for many reasons. It plays up on the theme of the city. There is a bridge in Wrocław that couples pin padlocks to. The figure resembles the statue of liberty. Wrocław was the home of Orange Alternative, an activist group who used street art to fight communism in Poland. They were very successful at it and city now commemorates the tradition by celebrating its many murals and statues of gnomes. In the last photo you can see a mural of orange handcuffed gnome popping out from behind.

DSCF5282.JPG

Great challenge! I have just seen it thanks to Paolo. I will mention it in my posts too.

Thank you, a! We need curators too. I only count the vote in the box containing the entry. So everyone is clear about that.

what is your name in personal chat?

I don't chat. If it's confidential, send me an e-mail at eilert(at)me.com.

It is not that that confidential. But I didn't want to spam. Nothing urgent. I will write when I comeback from my trip (Friday, ok?)

Cool. It was kind of inevitable there would be some unnecessay clutter here. We'll do better next time.

Our mutual friend @everlove just sent me a link to this, great job your doing for the art community here. She suggest I RESTEEM you on my pages over on Facebook and Twitter for Steemit Blogger Central and I feel the same way so creating a post for you in hopes this gains more traction for you.

Feel free to swing by and check out your post at:

Facebook:
https://www.facebook.com/steemitbc/

Twitter:
https://twitter.com/steemitbc

SBCanime.gif

Keep up the amazing work, just followed you. Need anything let me know.

That sounds fantastic! The first round ends tomorrow and I plan to launch the second after that. I can tag you in the post for a fresh take on it.

Unfortunately no street art near me. Mostly homeless and many other unfortunate things.

Good contest. If I still lived in Bristol, home city of Banksy, I'd be a contender. Not sure of the street art around here, but we could try.

squirel.JPG

This is my entry. It is in Glasgow, Scotland. I took the photo in May 2014 during a visit there.

The contest is on. Just keep your eyes open. I love Banksy.

Are we allowed to use photos we took of street art from cities we've visited recently but don't live in?

Yes! From your holliday, your mothers place, wherever! I just want to know where.

good idea. I missed it! resteemed

Great idea. I tried to post the photo in the reply but it wasn't showing the full photo. Can I post it as a blog post and give you the link here?

20170207_100352.jpg

Here is my entry, thanks for the tip. This photo was taken in Dunedin, South Island, New Zealand. I love all the characters from fairy tales and the Wizard of Oz!

What a great idea. LOVE IT @funkit!!! I've mentioned your post in the Collaborative Art Journey invitation. I hope to send some people your way. Thanks for helping create community.

I'm really pleased myself! And your actions started the snowball. We need more curators, though. Thats half the idea.

I'm delighted to have been an instigator!! By curators you mean artists to participate or someone to take charge of the collections?

Everyone! Everyone with a keen interest. Only in the case of a close race will i step in and act arbiter. Maybe i post something tomorrow. Keep your eyes open.

It takes quite a bit to run these initiatives--keeping up with all the comments, etc. I am grateful that I have chosen not to make the CAJ a contest. I think art is so subjective. I hated when I got graded in art in school. When I gave the opinion of others more value than my own I found myself either losing interest or creating for approval.

It seems the artists here on Steemit are very forward with their work. I love how they are so willing to put themselves out there and are accepted on so many levels regardless of their skill. And the support is astounding. If I can help in some way, please let me know.

I know what you mean. Here, however the only thing required is a camera, some judgement and go. +it is on our street corners. We should have an opinion. And making it a game, collecting samples from all around the world -it thrills me.

I'll help you with the things i can.

Yes i love that it is accessible to almost everyone who has interest in these kinds of things. One of the things I like about travel is enjoying the art and quirky things around town. I'm excited to see this go.

@sflaherty runs Steemit Blogger Central on FB and twitter. Check out his post--he loves the arts and will be a great supporter of these types of initiatives.

https://steemit.com/steemit/@sflaherty/steemit-blogger-central-logo-graphic-upgrade-want-more-followers-post-your-links-in-a-comment-sbc-update-5

A random city in the Netherlands something like 3-4 years ago. It could have been Eindhvoven. I cannot really recall. It is not Amsterdam for sure :) Please tell me the city if you recognize it!

Very well, Gaissa. Lets hope some of our dutch friends recognises it ;-) The judges is asked to account for this.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59007.49
ETH 2658.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44