You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: New Accounts Don't Have Enough SP to Fully Interact with the Blockchain. Should witnesses update the Max Block Size? (Discussion)

in #witness-category7 years ago (edited)

I don't know jack about the dev side of this, but I do know that it was a bit disheartening to have the desire to upvote/comment without the ability. I'm still learning things and I've found SteemIt a wonderful place to meet new people, be part of an online community that is supportive, laugh at some posts (etc).

The incapacity to interact with the community for newbies is a problem. I'm sure that some users have created and abandoned accounts because they couldn't see the use in having another website that promised to be a social media solution, but that didn't let them be social.

While sites like FB and Twitter don't pay, they do fulfill the mission of social media from the start of account creation. If SteemIt.com is serious about mainstream adoption, then this is a situation that is in dire need of a solution.

As I said from the outset, I don't know jack about the dev side. I know well the inherent laziness of people who already have too much to do on too many sites.

Glad you posted this. Can't wait to see what happens to rectify the issue.

(P.S. could someone please help me out regarding Curation Rewards? I get that not every post will earn Curation Rewards, that said, I've been active and manually upvoting posts I like since I started, yet haven't seen any Curation Rewards for the last 18 days. Thanks.)

Sort:  

When you claim rewards, your curation rewards are part of it now. So you are earning curation reward, Steem Power you see on your pending rewards are coming from curation as well as from post/comment rewards.

Is that why in the author rewards sections there's things listed that aren't my posts?

Great comment! Thanks for your input.

Regarding curation rewards, you only get a very small percentage from the post payout if you don't have a lot of SP. Most of the curatoin rewards go on the bigger voters who contributed more to the payout with their votes. If the amount of curation rewards earned is considered "dust" (below the lowest decimal point that the blockchain uses) then they are not counted.

Thanks for the replies. I'm still wrapping my mind around blockchain and Steem, your assistance is much appreciated!

Is that why my most recent upvotes (shown on steemd.com) say "upvote" when a few older ones say "curation reward" -- the newer ones were dust? Good to know.

So, how would a new user who isn't big on posting, but wants to curate and resteem be able to make enough SP to have any kind of impact?

If you are looking at steemd, the upvotes are from you clicking upvote and the curation rewards are payouts from past votes.

So, how would a new user who isn't big on posting, but wants to curate and resteem be able to make enough SP to have any kind of impact?

Posting and commenting are the main two ways to build SP. There is also the option to purchase more via your wallet.

Thanks for all your help @timcliff. I've chosen you as a proxy. I don't know enough about the various witnesses, nor the platform (yet), to pick 30 witnesses based on anything other than "wow, cool name."

Ok, cool. I am selective with my witness votes, so your vote is in good hands :)

If you ever want to learn more about the process and who to vote for yourself, here is a witness voting guide:
https://steemit.com/witness-category/@timcliff/witness-voting-guide

Groovy! That's a lot of reading. Gonna space it out so I don't blow my mind or my computer. lol. Just found myself with like 10 more tabs open...my poor computer can't handle it.

Which hopefully will be improved with HF19!

The whales won't be as impactful as they are now, hopefully freeing up some of those rewards.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 62881.38
ETH 2449.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.62