Witness Update : August 4 - August 11

in #witness-category8 years ago (edited)

Good News, Everyone!

That's one of my favorite lines from Futurama. The professor, who, I must add, is not modeled after me by Groenig. I've never been in contact with him once. Hard as that may be to believe.

This week has been a flurry of events working on various initiatives in my spare time (real-world job and commitments as well as an upcoming wedding) as well as doing code-review and an algorithm review.

In addition, I talk with lots of people in Steemit.chat to hear their concerns about the platform or even potential phishing sites (no, I will not name it here, as it's not confirmed if the site is phishing yet as it is currently offline, but a trusted user claims that after moving past the first page, the site asked for your steemit password) and bringing these concerns to the other witnesses.

Code Review and Algorithmic Review

As @arhag mentions in his latest witness update, he has identified, what he believes (and I as well), the attack vector that supercomputing has performed on the mining queue.

Although, I did not come up with the (supposed) solution, I contributed to the discussions on the attack vector, old and new algorithms, and the (evolving -- maybe it's stabilized by now) new implementation (located in the develop branch on github).

Ongoing Initiative(s)

Some of you may have missed that I am trying to encourage a #fiction writing community. To this end, I have started a new account called @steemwriters and put out a post reaching out to the #photography community to create a synergestic effect between fiction writers and photographers.

I seeded the @steemwriters account with 500 SBD from my own pocket. An undetermined amount of witness funds will be allocated to this project randomly.

In addition, this account will also begin to pick out bi-weekly fiction authors and stories that are not included in the #descriptionsonthespot weekly contests to highlight the creativity of our community.

#artistsunite !

I also have plans for steemwriters.com.

The dev I have hired (and paid for half the work) is still working on steemgrants and steemscholarships, too. No big updates on that. Progress is coming along. But, I hope that this will be an independently built interface for the Steem blockchain. I really cannot say more as I'm not a web developer and dunno if some of the pieces from the steemit source will be cherry picked or not.

Steemit.Chat Mod Volunteer

I have also been asked to moderate steemit.chat.

Secret Projects

Yes. I do have a few of these that are not being announced until they are further along. Stay tuned.

Other

As mentioned earlier, I try listen to all of you. I've had numerous people contact me in chat about problems they see with the platform -- lack of visibility, whales not downvoting, etc. As an example, see this post by @owdy.

If you contacted me and I didn't respond, don't fret. I'm busy. Please try again later. Probably prefacing the message with a "I tried to talk with you earlier, but you didn't respond." Especially if it is a witness matter.

Warning: If it's a message on soliciting votes, I may or may not ignore it.

Sort:  

Thank You @complexring I will like to take part in all fiction writing in #descriptiononthespot. I will continue to use the tag when I finish my project, if it's not too much to ask if you may follow me, I will make sure I post better content and i'm not asking you to up-vote my content, I truly want to be a better version of me and in time that will produce votes from steemers. Thank You again cheers!

That's all we're wanting to become : better versions of ourselves.

Great!
#artistsunite - I love it!
I am a painter/visual artist & would love to collab!
great vision!!

"Good News, Everybody!

That's one of my favorite lines from Futurama."

Haha omg I read it in his voice before I got to the 2nd line. :D

You've got my vote!

hey! Really appreciate what you are doing for the writers here. I would definitely like to take part in all the fiction writing projects no matter the number. I really love writing fiction. Makes me feel like a creator of a world; a director of a story! Thank you :)

Farnsworth says "everyone." I felt the need to correct that. =P

Looking forward to participating in this projects. Thank you for the much appreciated update!

Thank you. This was a most pressing issue. Hahaha.

I definitely support your ideas to get a fiction writing community established. I was hoping to eventually see a #fantasy tab as well so I could keep up with the latest news from my favorite authors, discuss the books I really enjoy, and even discover some new original content.

Well, you've got my vote and my interest. Love writing and reading fiction, especially some of the scifi and horror stories I've had the pleasure of stumbling onto here. I'm going to get in onthis and start posting some of my work in #fiction. Do I just tag my work with on Steemit with that?

Yes, you can tag your work with #fiction. With the @steemwriters account, we will do featured artists / fiction stories, in addition to the #descriptionsonthespot contest.

Wow preparing for a wedding ceremony is not an easy thing @complexring, it's a once in a lifetime event that should be mastered. Congratulation sir.

Congrats on the wedding. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62777.17
ETH 2951.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.59