Witness Update - 2016-12-30 (Server Upgrade)steemCreated with Sketch.

in #witness-category8 years ago

Upgraded my server to prevent missed blocks.

I have been dealing with dropped blocks since the most recent hard fork. The resource requirements for running a witness node have increased with some of the changes to the code base... I have upgraded my server specs, and I have yet to miss a block.

Prior to v0.16.0, I had run my witness node for months without missing a single block. Hopefully upgrading my server will help me achieve that same level of consistency.

Aside from that, there isn't much to report... I've had a trying few weeks, between work responsibilities, the holidays, and a devastating Santa Flu.

Latest Community Building Effort

But I'm excited to get back in the swing of things, as the dust settles. The football season is about to end, and I'm trying to get a group together to play a fantasy game called the NFL Playoff Challenge.

In a comment, @ats-david called it "guerilla marketing" for Steem/Steemit, and that's just what it is. The endeavour has various goals... primarily, it is a chance to have fun with fellow steemit users by playing a game together as a group. But also, it presents an opportunity to get the steemit.com name to show up on computer screens. To do that we need participation! Even if you aren't a football fan and don't feel like playing competitively, sign up and play for fun. It increases our visibility.

Sort:  

Great to hear on the upgrade! Keep finding dem blocks!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 65269.02
ETH 2653.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.84