You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Defending the CORE ECONOMY! - A Message from @fyrst-witness!

in #witness-category6 years ago (edited)

I tend to agree with @kevinwong about making curation 50%, others have mentioned this too, not too radical, what does bah long time archnemesis think about that? Too radikal?

Sort:  

That wouldn't even be a change.
It'd be undoing a change.

Those who run the voting bots will still game the system. I don't know how it would make a difference.

This isn't about them, this is about giving people more incentive to curate than to self-vote or to circle-jerk.

I manually curate every day. There is no reason to do it manually other than to try to reward good content. The voting bots will beat me at the game every time. Changing the amount will not change that.

So if we make the curation amount 0 curation won't change?

I don't know what everyone else does or what motivates them. Most people just simply sign up for the voting bots.

I think if you want to give them even more incentives or get me to stop manually curating and give up and go to the more effective bots, you should increase the curation rewards. I'm getting tired of curating anyway. :)

Why would more curation rewards lead to less curation? If that is true wouldn't no curation rewards lead to more curation then? Either way, self-voting won't stop, and that's not the point, the point is to encourage more curation but you seem to imply that if you get more rewards than right now for curation you'll stop curating, which begs the question, why?

I am already taking a loss manually curating. I could do much better using a voting bot. If I lose post rewards and walk away from more curation rewards, it would be time to rethink my current activity.

So if you get paid any less for your posts you'd leave? What would your activity be if you would get as many rewards from curating as you would from posting?

Notice the word Manual. The larger you make curation rewards the more I am going to care about what I am walking away from by manually curating.

Make the rewards large enough and there is no reason to engage with the site at all.

If curation rewards are zero, will curation change? If they are 100%, only as a thought exercise, what would curation look like? I don't get what you're saying here:

The larger you make curation rewards the more I am going to care about what I am walking away from by manually curating.

It's the same thing you said earlier but without any reasoning backing it up, it seems. You're saying that if curation rewards are 50% "the more" you're going to care about going to bots? Or the more you're caring about the content that won't be organically curated, well actually curated as everything else isn't curation at all, it's a complete invalidation of what curation stands for, in essence, in function, in any kind of aspect.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63585.64
ETH 3035.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84