20 minutes to broken

in #wisdom8 years ago

Twenty seven years ago I was injured during storm. I was thrown out of a flight line utility vehicle and
On my skull and was badly injured, I have been through many difficultly. Since the accident I have
Gained much wisdom and compassion for others suffer from chronic pain.

       Before the beginning of desert storm I was deployed to panama to set up a forward operating base
       So the other branches of the military to help proceed with the operations of our objectives in the event 
       We went to war. I arrived back at Charleston air force base and was informed that we have gone to war.
       My squadron was tasked to send all of our equipment to panama; I was already on base working for 
       Five hours when desert storm became real world. My squadron worked well into the night loading the 
       Trucks and aircraft with much needed equipment. My squadron worked twelve hours and I was on my 
        Seventeenth hour, my squadron was going to take me back to the section and I replied its only going 
        To take twenty minutes to put the age equipment back on the ready line, so I said lets go and get it 
       Done, when we were finished I called our section to pick us up, the expediter showed up and all twelve
       Of us climbed in the back of the half ton pick-up, I climbed in last because I had a sixty five pound tool
       Box, then we drove back to the section.

       When we arrived at the section, the truck stopped and as I waited while everybody else was getting
       Out of the vehicle, when it was my turn I picked up my tool box and stepped over the tailgate and 
       Put my foot on the bumper to step out of the truck and then the truck preceded to drive away as was
       Thrown out of the back and landed on my skull, I jumped up embarrassed, bent down to pick my tool 
       Box and found myself waking up in the hospital.

      The day the doctor came in and asked me how I was injured, so I told him what happened and I asked
      Him (as I was thinking to myself I should have went back to the section when I had been asked. The 
      Twenty minutes that changed my life) so Doctor tell me how bad is it. That’s the beginning of my chronic 
      Pain  journey. I was twenty four years old

    The wisdom I’ve gained is that I’m not in a wheel chair and can walk, everything could have turned out
    Worse. I have compassion for other people that have chronic pain. I won’t give up, broken or 
    Not.
Sort:  

Congratulations @maddmaxx383! You have received a personal award!

Happy Birthday - 1 Year on Steemit Happy Birthday - 1 Year on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

For more information about this award, click here

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Congratulations @maddmaxx383! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 3 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 67661.55
ETH 2619.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72