Holiday Music Curation

in #wintermas6 years ago (edited)
I wanted to share a bit of my favorite holiday music. Some of these songs are from albums that I've purchased, but I looked for the songs on YouTube so I could share them with you here. I cannot legally upload music that I have purchased, of course, but neither can the vast majority of people who have done it on YouTube — I will defer that legal situation to the owners of YouTube. I must say, however, that I am grateful for sharing-options sometimes, such as this.

Holidays.jpg
• ONE OF MY FAVORITE SHOTS OF HOLIDAY DECORATIONS •

curlydivider.png

I have always loved Jazz music, and it was one genre (of several) that was shared with my late-husband. Some years ago, I was offered a free album of holiday music for being a loyal customer of the Amazon MP3 music store. I was delighted at the smooth-Jazz rendition of this song by the group Indigo, and — as Amazon had hoped — went on to purchase one of their albums because of their wonderul style.

► Song: O Christmas Tree
Artist: Indigo

curlydivider.png

Another fabulous jazz rendition of a holiday song is this one, also discovered on a free holiday album offered by Amazon. This song is a quirky remix of the old classic song "Jingle Bells," recorded by the fabulous Duke Ellington, expertly remixed by Robbie Hardkiss.

► Song: Jingle Bells
Artist: Duke Ellington (Robbie Hardkiss remix)

curlydivider.png

This next artist is, in my opinion, a consummate guitarist. The delicate and gentle beauty of his performance in this song almost brings me to tears, and has done so on occasion. He plays with a combination of finger-picking individual notes, strumming, and an occasional percussive tap on the body of the guitar. I hope you enjoy this performance as much as I do!

► Song: Do You Hear What I Hear?
Artist: Mike Marshall

curlydivider.png

I was following a couple of musicians for several months, on two different sites, when one of them released this video with several fellow musicians performing this delightful rendition of a John Lennon classic. Every person who appears in this video is a musician or singer, or both, and their charming smiles make me want to hang with them! This is one of my favorite holiday videos, ever!

► Song: So, This is Christmas /Happy Christmas
Artist: Ruslan Sirota (piano, vocals, production) & friends:
Vocals: John Francis, Dilana, Charles Jones, Natasha Agrama, Trevor Wesley, Nikko Allen • Instrumentation: Roy Kariok, Ben Shepherd, Randy Emata, Alena Bernardi • Mixer/Co-producer: Yan Perchuk • Cameras: Dillon Padgete, Drea Castro

curlydivider.png

In 2013, the USAF (United States Air Force) Band conducted a holiday "Flash Mob" (a secretly-planned performance at a public place) at the National Air and Space Museum. Visitors of the museum that day were treated to a wonderful performance!

► Song: Jésu, Joy of Man's Desiring /Joy to the World
Artist: USAF Band

curlydivider.png

There are plenty of awesome musicians here on the STEEM blockchain, too, and I found these two performances by @paintingangels to be wonderful! Click on the song titles to listen! (Then come back here to continue with the other music!)

Song: What Child is This
Artist: Serena Matthews

Song: Silent Night
Artist: Serena Matthews

PaintingAngels.jpg

curlydivider.png

Another fabulous musician and singer on the STEEM blockchain is @isaria, who treats us with her version of a famous song by Vince Guaraldi. Her artistry with musical instruments as well as her lovely voice are always a treat!

Song: Christmas Time is Here
Artist: @isaria

IsariaChristmas.jpg

curlydivider.png

The Piano Guys are an amazing group of talented musicians, and I have three videos of theirs to share with you! The first is an incredibly beautiful piece, and the setting is fabulous!

►Song: O come, O come, Emmanuel
Artist: The Piano Guys

The next video from The Piano Guys is a phenomenal performance by four men on one piano! I am in awe! It is entertaining to watch them switch positions during the song, and the places they've mounted their cameras is amusing!

► Song: Angels We Have Heard on High (Christmas w/ 32 fingers and 8 thumbs)
Artist: The Piano Guys

The third is a very fun performance by The Piano Guys at a retirement facility.

►Song: Charlie Brown Medley
Artist: The Piano Guys

curlydivider.png

Serena Onasis is a young woman with an amazing vocal range. Please stick through this video to hear the fantastic range of her voice from beginning to end!

► Song: O Holy Night
Artist: Serena Onasis

curlydivider.png

Before they began focusing on the alternative-Christian genre, Sixpense None the Richer were a pop band with sweet vocals by Leigh Nash. I like her rendition of this old classic. The timber of Leigh's voice reminds me somewhat of the delightful tone of our own @paintingangels.

► Song: Angels We Have Heard on High
Artist: Sixpence None The Richer

curlydivider.png

In 2010, unsuspecting shoppers were treated to a wonderful performance of the "Hallelujah Chorus" by Handel at a food court in a shopping mall. Just, wow!

► Song: Hallelujah Chorus
Artist: Flash Mob organized by Alphabet Photography

curlydivider.png

I hope you've enjoyed some of this music as much as I have! 😊

curlydivider.png

SS-pansies-EN.jpg

STEEMIT-BLOGGERS-GIF-2.gif

__pearls.png

Sort:  

Congratulations! This post has been chosen as one of the daily Whistle Stops for The STEEM Engine!

You can see your post's place along the track here: The Daily Whistle Stops, Issue 350 (12/24/18)

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!
Pixresteemer is also listed as promoter on The Steemians Directory

This post has been voted on from MSP3K courtesy of @isaria from the Minnow Support Project ( @minnowsupport ).

Bots Information:

Join the P.A.L. Discord | Check out MSPSteem | Listen to MSP-Waves

Ooohhhhhh, how wonderful.... I shall slowly enjoy this collection of yours! :)
Thank you! 🎜

Edit 27/12: And I have just completed enjoying the collection ~ I totally totally enjoyed this whole selection. Thank you so very much for sharing this gift of music with us all...

What a wonderful collection of songs to enjoy @thekittygirl get everyone into the right mood, have a wonderful festive season.

#steemitbloggers

Terrific collection. Added this to The Daily Whistle Stops as our Holiday Guest Post ... since things were looking a little thin there on Christmas eve. Thank you for the contribution. Blessings to you ... here at Christmas and always.

thank you so much for this. I really enjoyed it.

What a terrific mix! For me, it's Duke Ellington and Mike Marshall on that list, but they are all terrific!

Thanks for sharing the joy of Christmas with US!

Love that Ruslan Sirota one! Brings back some memories. Thanks Kitty, loves you!🤗🤗

Posted using Partiko Android

This sounds like a lovely selection, I will certainly listen to it when things slow down here!
Merry Christmas to you and yours:)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62836.52
ETH 2558.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72