SNEEEEEEEUUUUUUUUWWWWWWW! (Snow...)

in #winter6 years ago (edited)

After so many days of watching photos of other countries getting nice falls of snow and thinking that we had missed out this year. We finally got snow! The reason for the Title, is that is the Dutch word (sneeuw) for snow. Which my oldest daughter keeps teasing me about, because I can't say it quite right... so I end up saying it a bit like the way I wrote it...

So far, the park and surrounding areas near us have untouched snow... which is really just beautiful to see, before it gets sludgy and dirty! However, there is only the barest thinnest layer of ice on the water, so it definitely isn't skating weather. In the end, it isn't that cold, so I'm not totally sure if this is going to last out the evening.

The view of our backyard is also starting to get a little whiter... I guess I should be taking in the BBQ, it doesn't seem like it is really going to get much use for quite a few months. I'm planning to switch to a gas barbeque anyway, as the smoke from starting a coal barbeque could really dampen our relationships with the neighbours!

Coming from Australia, where I had never seen any snow before... This is still just a wonderful experience for me! Pity it didn't happen over Christmas when my mother was here...


Upgoats by ryivhnn
Account banner by jimramones



The classical music community at #classical-music and Discord. Follow our community accounts @classical-music and @classical-radio. Community Logo by ivan.atman


steemengineBannerAnimation(test).gif

Sort:  

Everyone deserves a good snow fall every year.... Nobody deserves more than 5 though.

We got about 6 inches over the weekend and 4 inches last week. I love it right now, but I can only handle shoveling the snow so many times.

Wow, 6 inches! I'm not good at Imperial measures... But that seems to be about half the height of a house? Good luck with the shovelling!

legit, nearly 40, never been to the snow.

ive defrosted the freezer a few times. i imagine its much the same.

Yeah, it's pretty close... slip and fall on your arse and it will be exactly the same!

Im curious if the backyard is going to get even whiter by you guys there today,,

SNEEEEEEEUWWW, hehehe nice practise word!

I don't think it will last...

Sneeuw... I can't say it properly, and my daughter keeps correcting me, and I swear I'm saying the same thing! Apparently not...

Aw, what a cute dusting of snow. It's pretty, isn't it? We've got a bit more than that up here, but I've always lived in places with colder climates. The few times I spent winter in warmer places, it felt strange to me to have Christmas without snow. It makes things quiet, up here in the mountains, other than when the snowmobilers go out—those sleds are loud! ;)

Actually for me, Christmas WITH snow was a pretty weird thing at first... However, I'm kind of happy that we don't get tons of snow... it could be okay for a little bit... but if it shuts everything down, it could get a little bit irritating!

I woke up this morning to see everything white outside too and am quite happy about it even though going to the store will be a fun challenge hihi. I am glad you are enjoying it and yeah, too bad your mom could not see it.

We've lost ours within the few days... do you still have yours? Or has it gotten dirty and yuck?

Looks somewhat chilly... but beautiful nonetheless :)

It's really nice whilst it is still clean and new... Then it gets sludgy dirty and ice slippery!

Which my oldest daughter keeps teasing me about, because I can't say it quite right...

You are not alone, I cant pronounce it either LOL

Yeah I feel you, The first time I experienced snow was also equally awesome

It's not the only word... It's funny, because I used to tease my parents about their English... Now I get the same in Dutch!

Just by looking at those photo makes me shiver(lol). Thanks for the photos!

Posted using Partiko Android

It's not too bad! Warmer than when it is raining at least!

Howdy sir bengy! wow Australia never gets snow? I thought it got cold enough in the South there. It has mountains with some snow right? Hard to believe no snow there but I'm glad you got to experience, it looks wonderful!

Normally there is no snow, only a light cover on our highest mountain. Lately, there has been snowfalls in areas that never had it...

This post has received a 16.73 % upvote from @boomerang.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63315.26
ETH 2668.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.79