Wine Review: Viñas Chilenas Sauvignon Blanc

in #wine6 years ago

I had high hopes for this wine after drinking some Nobilo and other New Zealand sauvs such as Raorao. I had a good impression from the Nobilo, which is a more expensive wine that was served at a party I went to. However as soon as I opened the wine and took a swig, I noticed that it was sharp and had a strongly alcoholic tang, like a cheap 2 Buck Chuck. This contrasted sharply with the crisp, cool, honeydew like, flavor that I expected from Sauvignon Blanc in the New Zealand style.

But to be more friendly to the environment, I didn't want to buy a wine that was produced too far from America. Portuguese (a type I like) and Chilean wines come in a huge boat across the Atlantic. I don't know what route NZ wines take because it's probably pollution city.

I truly think that this wine is bitter and has an inadequate flavor even though it says winemakers reserve. It has a weird, metallic undertone that I dislike. The only good thing is that it's not sour. I wish that people in Chile could somehow replicate the NZ flavor. But I'm not going to buy it again, honestly, or I'm just going to reserve it for mixing with seltzer to drink in vast quantities. This is a shame because at $4.49, it's quite pricey for my budget compared to the 2 Buck Chucks. I don't want to relegate it to the chuck category but I'm going to have to do it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 61911.99
ETH 2585.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56