I Think My Dog Bit This Snake in Half (Oh Wait! ((New Revelation)))

in #wildlife7 years ago (edited)

Hey Steemit!

My wife and I were in the bedroom when we heard Chico barking a lot. We went outside to see what it was and we found half a snake sliding away.

IMG_3963.JPG

Could anybody help me to Identify this snake and determine if it is or isn't venomous? It looks like a simple garden snake with a head about the size of its body and round pupils. (Update: One of my friends on FB thinks this is actually a glass lizard, a lizard with no legs.)

IMG_3962.JPG

Chico's favorite spot is underneath my truck, because it's Sandy and shady. I bet the snake got to close to Chico and his spot, and Chico felt threatened. The snake slowed down a lot, and I just let him be. He will likely die without the rear half of his body. I put Chico inside and he's acting like it's no big deal. I HAVE A NEW THEORY: Last weekend I hit a snake with the lawn mower ON ACCIDENT, and I thought it surely died. I think this one is the one I hit (the accident happened on the other side of my lawn, but I'm sure he could've slid all the way from there.) This makes sense, too, because if you look at the wound, it's definitely not fresh. Also, I don't think Chico would have bitten the snake until it ripped in half.

Poor guy... If this is the case, he's had a rough couple of weeks...

Here you can see the severed body of the snake

IMG_3964.JPG

Thanks for stopping by, Steemians!

Sort:  

AWESOME!

But, your post is inaccurate! That is NOT a snake. It is a type of legless lizard, often referred to as a "glass lizard." If you looked closely at the head, you would notice some very un-snakelike features. For one, this creature has eyelids! Snakes do not. For another, it also has holes in the side of its head for ears, which snakes do not.

Like many other lizards, this kind can detach its tail when it is threatened or attacked. That is what most likely happened. Unlike snakes, this creature can detach it's tail in an attempt to distract the predator while the rest of it attempts to get away. The tail will regrow with time, but it will never be as long as the original. Also, the scales on the belly of this creature will look like lizard scales, and not the scales of a snake.

My unofficial guess would be an Eastern Glass Lizard, since you are in Florida.

Check these sources here and see what you think:
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Glass_lizard
http://ufwildlife.ifas.ufl.edu/snakes/leglesslizards.shtml
http://www.wildflorida.com/wildlife/lizards/Eastern_Glass_Lizard.php

You got an Upvote & Resteem from @getresteem!

I would ask @papa-pepper he seems to be the resident expert on creatures on steemit

Alright good idea!

Btw I hope your dog is okay and wasn't hurt by it

He is :) Thank you!

Thanks for that
I say it's a lizard!

My first thought was lizard. But I'm Australian and I'm not familiar with this particular type. We do have legless lizards that look like snakes though, which is why I went there.

I say you are correct! Most likely an Eastern Glass Lizard! Way to go!

This post received a 2.11% upvote from @randowhale thanks to @vegansilverstack! To learn more, check out @randowhale 101 - Everything You Need to Know!

This post has received a 4.61 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @vegansilverstack.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63835.35
ETH 2630.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.82