Strandfontein Birding Sunday

in #wildlife7 years ago

Hi guys,

I just wanted to share pictures of my birding trip from this past Sunday, I enjoy the challenge of photographing birds and then to identify them.

Strandfontein nature reserve is in Cape Town South Africa, it is part of the sewage works, where cleaned water is pumped into dams, the water is safe for birds to live and breed in and there are more than 100 species of birds in the area.

The first bird on my list

IMGP5164.jpg

IMGP5062.jpg
Levaillant's cisticola or tinkling cisticola, (Cisticola tinniens)

The next bird I saw was what we call a dikkop, in Afrikaans it means thick head, because it has a rather large head.

IMGP5149.jpg
Burhinus capensis (Spotted thick-knee, Spotted dikkop)

It is rather well distributed in South Africa mainly living on a diet of insects and small amphibians.

It was a really windy day on Sunday, so I did not see that many birds, but I will surely be going back to see if I can spot more birds on a less windy day.

Please let me know what you think of my post, upvote if you think it is worth it and have a great day!

Sort:  

Nice Pictures callierhino !

You got a 66% upvote from this post
⚡️ Powered up ⚡️ 1000 STEEM POWER

Today I met new species of birds for myself, since there are no such birds in our region. And good photos =)

Thanks, I go on lots of birding trips all over and take pictures, I am planning on loading all my best pictures on here in the future.

I'll wait :))

Congratulations @callierhino! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63316.74
ETH 2581.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.79