This is not a rescue by any means i think.

in #wild6 years ago (edited)

Today while at a local flea market in Florida, we stopped in at a shop that sells pets. The owner claimed this beautiful red Iguana was a rescue and he said clearly NOT FOR SALE! I then asked why his tail was cut and why he is in here on display and not in a environment more suited for his size and needs! The owner just walked away to talk to other shoppers. It breaks my heart to see. Now i understand that people get them as pets but, breeders should be more smart to educatethe buyers so that this doesnt happen. Sadly most breeders are just in it for the money 20180429_133935.jpg

I then started looking at other animals in the store. This beautiful male vailed C
Chameleon was a " rescue" so they say as well. He was blind in one eye and a chunk missing from his back. Again there was lots of baby reptiles in the shop for sale but no one was really educating the buyers..20180429_133925.jpg

A Bearded dragon that was actually in a decent size tank.
20180429_133957.jpg
I would love to one day own a lizard but will for sure not make any of these mistakes. Yes i understand that they should stay in the wild, but people will still capture and breed for a profit. I just want to give a good life to one if i can prevent someone else from just not caring.

20180424_200658.jpg

Sort:  

Just an FYI, I made it so none of your current posts will have their upvotes dusted. You were featured by @kandywriter for the payitforward contest.

What do you mean posts have the upvotes be dusted? And yes i seen she put me in her blog♥️ do i have to do something now?

Hi @aloha-creations. Congratulations for being featured in the Pay it Forward Contest. Here is a post explaining "dusted". And you don't have to do anything, but if you choose to, we'd love to see you join the contest next week :)

And seeing animals like this makes me so sad! My husband got me our cat from a pet store, and the poor thing had been living there for two years! Everyone buys kittens, but not many are interested in a full grown cat apparently. He has turned out to be the best cat I have ever known <3

I'm sure you were very disappointed. I certainly hope that one day you will be able to adopt your own. Keep educating the rest of us on this issue. I found you on the #payitforward contest. You were featured by @kandywriter. Congratulations and all the best to you.

Aw thank u !!

That is sad. It hurts me to see animals go through crap with people that don't care as much. That man should have been more with you and others and for those animals than he was. But it's people like you that will shine the light to help with such things.

I would agree, They belong in there native habitat.

Sad thing is there is not much that can be done about the Breeders and sellers, perhaps standing out front with big signs warning people of the salmonella poisoning caused by lizards, but the owner would just have you arrested. I found you via @kandywriter featuring you in their "Pay it Forward" contest entry.

Yes im not about protesting i would rather help the animal by buying it and giving it what it deserves and needs. And thank u for finding me 🌸

Perhaps one day you will be able to start a reptile rescue center, people could buy the critters, and then donate them to your care, but that would just perpetuate the irresponsible breeders.

I would love to have a farm again. With all kinds of rescues but never more then i can handle lol. Back on maui i would end up with all kinds of animals that were abandoned at beaches where there was no food or water for them. We found rabbits, chickens, cats etc. It was a crazy day everyday to care and feed them all but it was all worth saying each life. I miss it ♥️

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 67364.26
ETH 3322.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.71