THE WILD-MAN'S WILD FRIENDS VIDEO SERIES - EPISODE 6 - MUSK TURTLE

in #wild-man7 years ago

I waited all my life to find one of these in the wild!


The Musk Turtle AKA “Stinkpot” (Sternotherus odoratus) is a pretty cool little turtle. When I say “little turtle” I mean it too. Though they can live for over 50 years, they never really grow more than six inches.

In my opinion, the Stinkpot almost looks like a little Snapping Turtle stuck in a Box Turtles shell. The names Musk Turtle and Stinkpot point toward the glands that these turtles have which can release a foul odor. We had them back in Wisconsin, but I was never able to locate one in the wild. Here in Arkansas, though, this is the second one that I have found.

The information is the video is original but I did have a quick refresher from this source.

THE WILD-MAN'S WILD FRIENDS - EPISODE 6

MUSK TURTLE


If you enjoyed this video, please consider thanking @thelivingpoet for encouraging me to make it!


As always, I'm @papa-pepper and here's the proof:


proof-of-wild-friend-musk-turtle



Until next time…

Don’t waste your time online, invest it with steemit.com


TO TRANSLATE POSTS VIA OPERATION TRANSLATION CLICK HERE

Sort:  

Stink pots love it! Reminds me of my ferrets I used to have.

Loading...

I wanna bet that turtle you have there is the blue one isn't it?

teenage-mutant-ninja-turtles-video-app_51755-96914_1.jpg

Nope, purple I think.

Thank you papa for your video. it is good for me to get to know the flora of where you are. Love your posts. Best regards

Happy turtle... enjoy your day!

Hi there bro. So much of the wild life posts. You have a very nice place, lots of wildlife which can be found around. What is the name of your place by the way?

Arkansas, and I'll be working on your logo today.

Oh thank you. :)

Nice shots. I used to get those Florida softshell turtles stuck in my pool as a kid - the ones with the snouts and mean disposition.

Soft-Shelled_Turtle.JPG

-From Wikipedia

Those are very cool.

Dare I say...

He is cute

this is cool man, turtles are awesome lol

I've never seen one of those in the wild. Thanks again for doing this series....it's extremely informative.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66408.70
ETH 3225.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.17