THE WILD-MAN'S WILD FRIENDS VIDEO SERIES - EPISODE 28 – PLECOCTOMUS

in #wild-man7 years ago (edited)

I caught one of these a few years back, but I did not realize that they actually lived in Texas!


The Hypostomus plecostomus is a type of suckermouth catfish native to South America. Because of their ability to rasp algae off of aquarium glass, they have become huge in the freshwater fish aquarium pet trade.


Like so many other species, people have a tendency to outgrow their pets and release them into the wild. Now, in the southern states of the US, there are naturalized populations of these “Algae Eaters” running wild.

I actually found one some time ago, but did not realize that there was a wild population of them here in South Texas. If you want to learn more, you’ll have to check out the video. Enjoy!

The information is the video is original but I did have a quick refresher from this source.

THE WILD-MAN'S WILD FRIENDS - EPISODE 28

PLECOSTOMUS



If you enjoyed this video, please consider thanking @thelivingpoet for encouraging me to make it!


As always, I'm @papa-pepper and here's the proof:


proof-of-pleco



Until next time…

Don’t waste your time online, invest it with steemit.com


TO TRANSLATE POSTS VIA OPERATION TRANSLATION CLICK HERE

Sort:  

I had one of those guys in my tank as a little kid.

Cool, how big did it get?

Well the tank was only a 40 gallon so he couldn't get that big.. I would say about the size of my hand.

Loading...

siguiendo!!

Great catch and the fish looks cool. Can you pardon the fish and set it free? Upvoted. wish you a great Sunday

That one you have there is a beauty. I have a tiny 2 inch Rubber Pleco and a 10 inch Bristlenose Pleco in my two aquariums. They are very shy, but interesting fellows.

Bristlenose Catfish.JPG

The Bristlenose Plecos are soooo cool!

I've always had those bottom feeders in my fish tanks, they are so cool. They look so aerodynamic, almpst look like a spaceship. And they move just as so .

I've seen them upside-down in the canals too, sucking on the surface.

Guess everything and everyone in life has a role... lol

Very interesting stuff,our ecosystems our being destroyed all around the world by mankind. By introducing non native species into the ecosystem,this can have disastrous long term effects,that are totally unforeseen. This happens over and over again,why aren't we learning from these mistakes or does nobody care?
I,d love to try giving up city life and living off the land and ecosystem. I don't know if i could truly do it,but i'd love to give it a go,just for the experience.

Maybe we are just helping "survival of the fittest", no? People claim things like survival of the fittest but then complain about invasive species.

Some fisherman got tired of the janitor fish and tried to cook them, They said it was delicious.
They have to throw it into the fire first tho so that they can be able to remove the meat for them to cook them with coconut milk andd some ginger.

That would take up my whole fish tank,at least it would be clean!I don't think they are that ugly looking at this one.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70597.89
ETH 3559.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.77