THE WILD-MAN'S WILD FRIENDS VIDEO SERIES - EPISODE 24 - FIVE LINED SKINK

in #wild-man7 years ago

These lizards can be as common as they are beautiful!


The Five Lined Skink (Plestiodon fasciatus) is one of my favorite wild lizards. After living in Wisconsin for 25 years, I was finally able to locate one in the wild. Here is Arkansas, they are a lot more common, and we encounter them frequently.

While the males eventually become a tan color with a rusty-colored red head, the females will maintain their beautiful black body with the namesake five yellow lines running lengthwise along it. Younger Five Lined Skinks also come with an electric blue tail, which can detach when they are grabbed or threatened.

I mention how incredible the baby Five Lined Skinks are in the video, and thankfully, I was able to locate one within hours of filming, so I took this photo as an example. Please note my finger for a size comparison. The rest of the info is in the video, enjoy!

The information is the video is original but I did have a quick refresher from this source.

THE WILD-MAN'S WILD FRIENDS - EPISODE 24

FIVE LINED SKINK


If you enjoyed this video, please consider thanking @thelivingpoet for encouraging me to make it!


As always, I'm @papa-pepper and here's the proof:


proof-of-wild-friend-five-lined-skink



Until next time…

Don’t waste your time online, invest it with steemit.com


TO TRANSLATE POSTS VIA OPERATION TRANSLATION CLICK HERE

Sort:  

You must have some good eyes to catch it in the wild! Amazing exemplar!
Surprised-01-01

I think I must. I've been doing it all life long (locating animals in the wild and catching them).

My selfesteem is taking a dip watching these post. I always feel like a pussy getting close to animals like these. Respect!

Awe man. This one is just a little lizard too.

@papa-pepper the Lizard is indeed an amazing animal that comes in different sizes and colors. Do you know that some cats eat lizard and even human eat some species of lizard. Guess that you will like to have a bite isnt it? good one, thanks for sharing

There sure is a lot of variety in lizards. I was just catching some geckos with my oldest daughter.

Wow, I saw the pic , your daughter will even do better than you in the future. Good job indeed.

Loading...

Love your posts and how courageous you are.resteemed

So cute! I like the name Skink!

I love those cute little lizards. I always call them blue tailed skink. Upvoted and resteemed! Thanks for another great post!

That is one common nickname for them.

It's so little!

It's one of my favourite things when a creature will just sit on your hand like that! I had a lovely day of be-friending insects and having them just sit on my hand and I'm half way through writing a post about it. I got distracted though trying to figure out discord for the first time and now it past my bedtime :)zzzzz

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.035
BTC 66739.07
ETH 3228.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.23