THE WILD-MAN'S WILD FRIENDS VIDEO SERIES - EPISODE 13 - DOBSONFLY

in #wild-man7 years ago

Finally, an insect worthy of being called my friend!


Yes, the Dobsonfly is one crazy insect and a longtime friend of mine! Even as a child I loved capturing them in their larval stage, down in the creek behind my parents house, when they are commonly called "hellgrammites." In fact, the majority of the Dobsonfly's life is spent in the water as a hellgrammite. As an adult, they only live about a week.

With a wingspan that can rival a sparrow or bat, the Dobsonfly is one impressive insect. Since they are mostly nocturnal, I've even mistaken them for bats at night before. This one happens to be a male, which can be determined from the size of its mandibles ("pinchers").

The information is the video is original but I did have a quick refresher from this source.

THE WILD-MAN'S WILD FRIENDS - EPISODE 13

DOBSONFLY


If you enjoyed this video, please consider thanking @thelivingpoet for encouraging me to make it!


As always, I'm @papa-pepper and here's the proof:


proof-of-wild-friend-dobsonfly



Until next time…

Don’t waste your time online, invest it with steemit.com


TO TRANSLATE POSTS VIA OPERATION TRANSLATION CLICK HERE

Sort:  
Loading...

Thanks for the post! Really cool stuff

funtastic papa.
amazing
follow me @neobarrack

Cool! Where was that? I think I've been shown the larvae but haven't seen an adult before.

The animal whisperer does it again!

wow it's impossible @@

Really cool and wild stuff!!

Yeah don't mess with the females they might snip off your pinky finger, nasty set of chomppers on them!

They can get a much better grip than the males! Thanks for checking it out @jetjockey!

Man! that looks scary!
Theres no way I would let that get any close to my face , some guts there!

Thanks for sharing, love the wildlife!

I'm glad that you still like it. With most of these creatures, the worst that they can do to you is kill you...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 68156.06
ETH 3517.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.81