THE WILD-MAN'S WILD FRIENDS - EPISODE 8 - RED EARED SLIDER

in #wild-man7 years ago

This is one of the most popular turtles in the world!


The Red Eared Slider (Trachemys scripta elegans) is a striking and beautiful species. It is common throughout South-Eastern United States, but has invaded many places around the world, including South Africa, Australia, and Europe. Because of it's extreme popularity in the pet trade, it has been shipped all around the world. When pet owners grow tired of them and release them into the wild, they can quickly become an invasive species.

These turtles are omnivores, and will eat fish, worms, frogs & carrion (dead animals) as well as vegetation. They are a mostly aquatic turtle that can often be seen sunning themselves on logs and rocks, since they are cold-blooded reptiles.

Little turtles like this were once the rage in the pet trade. However, since young turtles under 4 inches in length can carry salmonella, pet shops no longer carry the baby turtles. Though the beautiful shells may eventually become covered in moss, they can still be recognized by their beautiful red "ears" on each side of their head.

The information is the video is original but I did have a quick refresher from this source.

THE WILD-MAN'S WILD FRIENDS - EPISODE 8

RED EARED SLIDER


If you enjoyed this video, please consider thanking @thelivingpoet for encouraging me to make it!


As always, I'm @papa-pepper and here's the proof:


proof-of-wild-friend-red-eared-slider



Until next time…

Don’t waste your time online, invest it with steemit.com


TO TRANSLATE POSTS VIA OPERATION TRANSLATION CLICK HERE

Sort:  
Loading...

I have always loved turtles. They bring me so much joy! Been a bit down in the dumps recently. Talked about it in my most recent post. Maybe you'd give it a read?

https://steemit.com/funny/@jhermanbeans/orange-is-the-new-black-and-getting-dumped-a-definitely-drunken-rant

so many turtles, there's diversity where you at.

I like those fellows especially the little one ;) "they can quickly become an invasive species." Let me say good for them it means they would survive :)
Good work and I like photos.

steem on copy.jpg

Thanks for that!

Anytime 😄 Have a good one Man.

Those things are so delicious.

I guess I should have posted it in #foraging too!

Do you mind sharing how you prepare them? What do they taste like? Thanks :)

Love the red ears. One of the Drs offices i work with had one in a tiny tank so i offered to take it and put it in my koi pond. Seems like a great idea right? No good deed goes unpunished as it ate all my fish haha. Luckily they were all small and inexpensive. I kept him for a couple months and put little feeders in there so he would be able to swim and catch them and then I let him go in the big lake down the road. It's nice having again but I miss the little tyke.

@papa-pepper Nice post as usual sir. I miss the turtle we used to have around in NY. I just don't miss NY haha. I love to come here to see what you got on all these animals that I don;t have around anymore. Thank you Sir!

Semper Fidelis
TEOTWAWKI Man

OMG! That turtle is so cute. I get to see a lot of the endangered Olive Ridley turtles. They are quite big in size and we see hundreds nested along the coast. I watched a Ridley dig deep in the sand for more than two hours to lay eggs. Fascinating!

cute turtle. I used to live in farm when I was a kid and there were just so many turtles everywhere.

nice post! upvoted! :) have a good one :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 68014.74
ETH 3533.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.81