You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: For Your Amusement

in #whysoserious7 years ago

@old-guy-photos,

What does it say about my life, or perhaps what Steemit is doing to it, that the Paul & Denise Show has become my Must-See TV? What voyeuristic tidbit will I learn today?

I'm never really sure, but I can guarantee you one thing ... I gonna learn something about salad dressings!

Thousand Islands, Balsamic Vinegar, Paul Newman's Chipolte-Like-Made-Only-For-McDonalds.

Paul, in a Comment to one of your earlier posts, I mentioned that I like Blue Cheese. But listening to you talk about cavorting with all manner of salad dressings, I can't help but wonder if I've been missing out. Perhaps I've gotten old, predictable and set-in-my-ways.

So I got up, went to the kitchen and looked in my fridge. Surely I'm not a one-salad-dressing kind of guy. Well, there was also a bottle Caesar, but that doesn't really count because it's my daughter's. I rummaged around and, Bingo, on the bottom left corner of the lowest rack on the door ... was a bottle of "Spicy Sweet French."

"Ha," I thought to myself, "I a man of the world after all!" Just like Paul. But my moment of triumph was quickly replaced with a moment of perplexion ... "Spicy Sweet French ... I don't remember buying any Spicy Sweet French salad dressing."

I examined the bottle. It had been opened and wasn't quite full, so someone must have had some. Was it me? I recall neither buying it nor eating it. While the label was partially ripped, I could make out a date: Oct. 17, 2012.

What does that mean? Best before date? Expiration date? I don't really believe in expiration dates, at least not as hard-and-fast lines in the sand. Think about it: how could Kraft possibly know that their salad dressing would be good on October 17, but Botulinum-laden on Oct. 18? They couldn't. They're guessing.

My curiosity was now aroused. What does Spicy Sweet French salad dressing taste like? I'll admit to a bit of apprehension as the dressing was clearly 5.5 years past some date. Fortune, however, favors the bold.

I didn't have any lettuce, but I did have an apple. So, I cut it up, dipped and ... it was pretty good! Very different than my go-to Blue Cheese, but still pretty tasty.

So, there you have it. Salad dressing feedback. I'll bet a bottle of blue cheese that none of those snotty-assed whales and dolphins ever get salad dressing feedback.

One hand washing the other.

Sort:  

Great comment, however before you fall under the ill effects of food poisoning, I suggest that:

  1. You dive yourself to the ER, or
  2. Get a good supply of toilet paper because the effects can be umm draining.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 61248.96
ETH 2375.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55