Few things about sardines that kept my great grandpa still alive

in #whysoserious8 years ago (edited)

Both of my grandpas died but I still have great grandfather who is alive and next week he will turn 99 years. I will be there and I will have chance to take some photos of him.

His mind still works fine, he was driving bicycle until 2 years ago. His eyes are still doing pretty good job because he still reads a lot of books. He survived longer than most of his children and some grandchildren. And what is his secret of long life? He always answers the same combination: fried sardines and red wine.
He has never gone too far with the wine, two glasses each day isn't too much.

But he is really addicted to sardines.

Sardines are rich with minerals, vitamins and omega-3 fatty acids. It is even better if you add some olive oil over them, when they are finished.

Fresh sardines are almost always available in the place where I live.

If you get fresh sardines, you need to clean them. Shells are not problem, you need chop it's head and take the guts out. That is really not much work to do. Sardine is a small fish and there are no any problems with taking it's guts out. I planned to clean them to take some photos for the post before I fry them, but someone else did that for me while I was in the market.

So when you clean the, you need to put them in a plastic bag with some flour and shake it.

There is no any philosophy about frying sardines. No, this is not a recipe post. Just heat the oil in a pan and put sardines covered with flour in it!

Then fry it for few minutes on both sides! Shake the pan from time to time. I made this GIF for you because, lately I make these GIF-s of everything I see.

When they are finished, take them out, put them on some paper tissues because it will soak up the oil from sardines. Salt them and that's it!

So, let's try to reach the age of 99! And don't forget the glass of red wine ;)!

#whysoserious

#balkanos

Sort:  

I wouldn't soak up any oil, that's probably why your grandpa is still healthy, that saturated fat is what our brains are made out of.

Yes, his fish is never oily!

@dumar022, i like me some sardines. Awesome post my friend. Steem On Dude!

thank you @runridefly - dude, steem on

Are you the same WhySoS3rious as from the Ethereum community, who created Rouleth?

Nope but thanks

As the vulcans said, live long and prosper.:-)

you're welcome

I love sardines! Post pictures of your Great Grandpa and tell him I said, "happy birthday!"

We have sardines for lunch today.
The same cooking method.

always the same, but whole kitchen stinks badly after that! i forgot to mention that in my post

Can they be fried w/ butter? Or add some butter to the oil. It usually help w/ the smell plus a lighted candle.

I honestly didn't try with butter, maybe, the idea is not bad! I use the mix of regular oil and olive oil for frying, i really can't connect the tastes of butter and sardines, but who knows, maybe it would be delicious

Pssst..dont tell anyone. We add butter to the oil when frying dried fish ;)

LOL

thank you, I won' tell anyone that you add butter to the oil when frying dried fish ;)

Oh did i say that lolsss

Jennifer Lawrence flagged me! It's an honor! Hilarious! somebody has really bad taste for humor! Explain yourself, flagger!

Multiple posts are being flagged by someone. About 10 posts in a row, including yours. Another person who has went off the deep end, I guess. Lol

yes, I know, i checked that account on steemstats.com and that user only flags around.

Oh, You poor thing.
I avenge for you. Dusted!!

@dumar022
These people are dangerous to the community.
I have done my part.

but the funniest thing - Jennifer Lawrence!!!! Hahahahahahahahhahahaha

Bro take them down. Every Bit of them so they can't hurt the community.
https://steemit.com/@rizwanali101 , this one of them
https://steemit.com/trending/jenniferlawrence

thank you man, I did it! I think that user has more than one account and hides somewhere acting as a decent steemer

check @gsombra, I believe that's other account of that user. What do you think

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.13
TRX 0.12
JST 0.024
BTC 49842.52
ETH 2229.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.00