Are you sitting too much?

in #whysoserious7 years ago

How much time in a day you spend sitting?

My late grandpa used to say that the only thing better than sitting was sitting AND eating. Probably THAT combination made him my LATE grandpa.
If you are still here and reading this crap, it means that you are sitting or lying. Or LYING. Because I do not believe that you read posts on your smartphone while walking across the street. And I find smartphones good only for upvoting/commenting but not for posting, although I know that many of you wouldn't agree with me.
Many Steemit users write multiple posts every day, spend their time on the network reading what's happening, they communicate on different chat places, so I am worried about the health of my followers.

You know that you shouldn't spend in sitting position more than 2 hours in a day?


IMAGE SOURCE

I personally don't know anyone who sits less than at least 4 hours in day. One hour of sitting is needed for all your meals in a day, you spend at least one hour every day sitting, chatting, drinking coffee and hanging out. Then transportation... You spend at least one hour every day in your car or some public transport. Some of us have desk jobs that require sitting for 8 hours. Then, an average dude from my country comes home and spends at least 2 hours SITTING on the couch, staring at the TV completely moveless like a statue emptying his brain before sleeping.


IMAGE SOURCE


Now let's add Steemit to all this.

Steemit users usually spend between 1.5 and 16 hours every day on Steemit. We created a great sitting community with many great people sitting in front of their computers all around the world... And this community is so great that each of us has benefits of existence of others. I have benefits of you being healthy and alive on Steemit. But ironically, while you're reading this, your ass is placed comfortably in the chair (as mine is while I'm writing this), so let's list some risks for your sensitive ass:

  • Risk of spine damaging
  • Risk of gaining weight
  • Risk of diabetes
  • Risk of heart stroke
  • Risk of trombosis
  • .....

These are only some, but enough for you to get up and do some exercises, to stretch your back, your legs and go for a walk. Wait, upvote first... :) Thank you!

logo

Sort:  

But in today's life Sitting for us is necessary.
Alternatively exercise is the best way to remain fit.

The best way to avoid long sitting is to drink plenty of water.... :))

I am sitting too much.

Thanks for a quick answer :)

As a little longer answer:

I'm trying to use the Slav/Asian squat more lately.

We recently got the Varidesk things at work to promote more standing while you work. I fully agree that people sit too much, including myself.

When I was managing a poker room on the side, I stood all evening, and walked around a lot. It was the best shape I was in for years.

I try to get up and walk around once or twice an hour. Sometimes meetings prevent that, but I am usually able to do it.

Thanks for the post, gonna go for a short walk now.

LOL, I am glad for that! Luckily for me, I have this crazy dog that needs long walks if I want peace in my house :)

Too much sitting, that's for sure! I bet if we have less technology today, we wouldn' sit even a half...but then, I wouldn't be sitting and writing this reply right now :)

Well, I was sitting here at leat for 45 minutes to write this

wow, you are a genius, can read the characteristics of someone without looking directly 'I salute you @dumard022

People know this but in a digital age it is the way. Of course there are downfalls to not sitting as well... so the prudent thing is alternative time shifts. One hour stand, one hour move, one hour sit as of course the situation allows.

https://steemit.com/health/@kyusho/get-up-now

That's an interesting read, thank you!

Yes exactly. I am already sitting on my Sofa while I am reading your post :)
And I feel comfortable only on the Sofa or in my bed while writing or reading posts here :)

Yes! We all do! While we make a progression in these things, we stuck physically.

i am sitting while reading this post now, and i will get up for 1 hour after reading this. haha

Good for you :)

Yes, I think I am. So, I' m going to sleep. :-)

Interesting, but lying is healthier than sitting, so, do that for yourself :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59239.68
ETH 2525.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50