Why I Am Broke #2

You might not recognize me, but when I played for the Denver Broncos I made a whole ton of Cash!

Mullah, dinero, clams, what have you... I had too much to count and plenty to spend. I never checked my bank statements and I surely didn't care about credit.

People Used to ask me for money!

I had it all. Cars, clothes, women -

Until it was all gone....


Yup millions - Spent!

But on what you might ask?


LAVISH HOUSE PARTIES

 mb3528modernism.weebly.com 


The dream of all young boys is to grow up and 

Be cool

But once you attain such a status, you then must retain the status. Nothing is more popular or cooler than throwing a massively expensive party!

And expensive it was

I never understood it, but everyone needs to be paid. It's like, Your invited to this kick ass party, why do you need money to show up and work.

- Gourmet chefs

 elitechoice.org 

At $5,000 to $10,000 a night, these guys can dish up a hefty bill.


-Butlers

 luz.it 


Now a rich man like me pays his daily butler some $200,000 yearly, but for parties you need some hired help.  


-Go Go dancers

 www.bestliveentertainment.com 

Every party needs people to constantly party otherwise it would just be lame. That’s why when you’re famous, you throw amazing parties by having hired people dance, sing, and hit on your ugly friends that free-ride your fame.


-Security

 www.securityguardtrainingcentral.com 


When you’re famous, many people that you didn't invite or even know existed will attempt to come inside. That’s where your knights with nightsticks come into play.

Not only do randoms try to show up, but you will also need to keep your broke friends that you didn't invite from coming inside and making a scene. 



OVERPRICED LIQUOR

This brings me to my next section which fits perfectly into the party category. 

When you were broke you drank cheap vodka

 www.haskells.com 


When you’re rich, you drink expensive liquors


It’s not that it tastes any better as is, but It's just knowing you spent a fortune on some over-priced booze so it 

Naturally Tastes Better

I know you broke people reading this wouldn't understand it, but it comes down to this theory

The more something costs

The better it always is


But when you’re rich and famous like me, one doesn't simply buy liquors

We prefer Champaign 

Nothing gets the point across that you have a bunch of cash to waste then

Popin' Bottles of Cristal


One of these babies will normally run you 1,000 dollars for some 12% alcohol content Champaign that tastes like Sh*t.  

The taste really doesn't change when you buy the more expensive varieties. Some bottles can charge a hefty price of $15,000.

Most of the times I didn't even drink the crap, I much more preferred to shake it up and spray it around the room.

 www.dcclubbing.com 


During my time on top I made millions for many years.

I had the time of my life

But between the Parties and expensive alcohol, and the many other luxuries I consumed during my successful career in football

I never saved a dime

Once my hip gave out, I was forced to retire, and at age 30 I was job-less.

My millions were gone within a few years, like a poof of smoke.... Gone


The parties stopped, and the friends I rejected during that time have decided to reject me now that I’m back on their level.

Everything was repossessed or taken to pay back creditors

I'm now 35 years old, un-educated, broke and in debt. Without skills, I work at the local gas station for $9/hr.




Thank you for reading, and keep an eye out for other reasons why I became broke.

Comments are always welcomed

Consider following me @generation.easy

Sort:  

You sir have learned a life lesson like a lot of us. Whether it's having money one day or gone the next or a lifelong debt problem, it is all something that if we learn from it can make us better. I wish you all the luck and hope your past has made you wiser.

Each day makes us all wiser
Thanks for the comment

Some of the best lessons we learn come through pain or sacrifice, but I'm sure you will be just fine. Best of luck to you my friend.

I feel ya, always lessons to be learned

You have ups and downs, at least you've been up there, most of us haven't. I have always worked these 8 hour a day jobs, and worse I had to go home worrying about the job, things I'd left undone etc. Right now I am unemployed and I live in a country where there is no welfare, so basically I'm scr*wed. But you have to believe things will get better, and right now I hope they will get better for you and also for myself. Remember money isn't everything, but it sure helps.

You hit the nail on the hammer with that one!
Good luck to you and your journey also

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 55994.52
ETH 3002.48
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.12