Why?steemCreated with Sketch.

in #why7 years ago

This is a bit of a rant but I’m not impressed with the way things are turning out.

WHY.png

I’m better off than most people my age are and yet, there is always that feeling that something is missing.

What could it be?



I have a secure job with a wife, a kid, two dogs, a cat, a house, two vehicles, and a sailboat. I’m financially stable with near perfect credit which I hardly ever need to use because I know what it really is. I consume very little, always trying to make, repair, recycle, and repurpose things before I buy anything new. I eat fairly healthy, making sure I stay away from a good chunk of the toxic chemicals that are in our food supply today. I also try and grow what I can in the summer. I don’t allow myself to be subject to companies bombarding me with advertisements. It’s actually weird to see a commercial on TV because I’ve gotten so good at avoiding them for so long. I’ve accomplished all of this based on my own decisions and actions. Some decisions were good and some were bad, I guess, but it’s all turning out okay and I'm thankful for all of that.

So if it’s not that part of my life, what could it be? What is missing?

Well, I have some assumptions.

It could be the way I look at the world compared to the people around me. I assume because I view things differently, that makes people uncomfortable about some of the things I say. Due to the fact that my opinions about the world make people uncomfortable, and the fact that I know this, I usually end up not saying anything. I keep my opinions to myself, most of the time, which makes me appear not very talkative. It’s really a lose-lose situation for me. I appear strange when I voice my opinions and if I keep my mouth shut, I also come off as strange and not very talkative. So, either way, I guess I’m a strange person and I’m completely okay with that.

This whole society appears fake to me, especially the way things are now. People are so hung up on things that don’t matter and don’t care about the real problems we are having. It’s getting worse by the day. Are they pretending to care because the TV told them to care? Or, do they genuinely care about things that don’t matter? People seem so hung up on specific things that they aren’t capable of looking at the big picture to see what’s really going on. And believe me, the picture looks so big it can’t easily be put into words anymore. Just about every aspect of western society seems broken but everyone is just carrying on like it works fine. Most people think we as a society have created this world but I’m not so sure that’s the case. It’s only what our enslavers want us to think and we have been molded and conditioned to be like this over a very long time.

I know I’m being very vague and not giving examples. It’s because it’s everywhere and way too hard to focus on just one topic when the real issue is all the topics combined. I really think there are two types of people right now; those that get what I’m saying and those who don’t. That has been my observations I gather when my opinions do come out. If you get it, congratulations, you are one of the few. If you don’t get it, maybe you should wake up, do a little research for yourself, and find out what’s really going on around you.

It’s very important to objectively ask ‘why’ something is done the way it is in society today.

Maybe it’s because “that’s the way it was always done.” Then why is it done now? If we do things based on this logic, we will never advance towards anything better. We will just be doomed to stay where we are without moving forward as a society. Maybe it’s time to stop doing things the old way just because that’s the way things have been done. Maybe there is a better way that makes more sense.

There is this one, which I hate the most:

“Because it’s the law.”

I absolutely hate that! If you replace the word ‘law’ with the word ‘rule’ this sentence sounds completely childish and does not hold any ground.

“Why do we do things this way?”

“Because it’s the rule.”

Not really an answer to the question if you ask me. And if you really break it down, it sounds more like, “because if we don’t follow the rule that some random guy wrote down on a piece of paper 50 years ago, men with guns will come and hurt us.” This answers what the consequence is, but not why it’s done.

I ask why a lot. I know I’m not going to get a good response and most times I already know the answer. I just like watching people react when they try and come up with a logical explanation that doesn’t exist. Sometimes I can pinpoint the exact moment on someone’s face when they realize there is absolutely no reason for them to be doing something and they have no explanation. You can see them snap out of the societal-transe for just a brief second before their brain reboots and they go back to their normal sleep-like state, usually changing the subject. Cognitive dissonance is a hell of a thing. As interesting as it is to watch, it’s also sad to watch it happen to so many people that are probably much smarter then I am.

So, I’m really not impressed with the way things are going. It’s so easy to see solutions to so many of today's problems but I’m not allowed to change them. I’ll just continue along in this unimpressed state, pretending like I’m like everyone around me until enough people are as equally unimpressed. I’ll throw in my opinion here and there just to reboot others and maybe wake them up. Then we can start making some changes. I can see it starting. People are starting to wake up little by little. But, it just seems to be taking an awfully long time and it blows my mind.

How long can this boondoggle continue?

How long until you wake up?

Sort:  

hmm, you put a lot of effort in writing this... too bad not a lot of people will take the time to read it.
Think I can say : I get it... and I think you could be interested in the "5 Monkeys and a Ladder" experiment : http://www.wisdompills.com/2014/05/28/the-famous-social-experiment-5-monkeys-a-ladder/

Yes, I'm aware of that experiment. It's pretty sad to say but that is exactly what is happening. And speaking of monkeys, I like to think we will be getting to the 100th monkey effect pretty soon. https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Hundredth_monkey_effect

nah... that's all fake news 😉

Asking why is important and I agree that many people and things feel umimpressive... it's the little things in life that make it good i suppose - for me its coffee, fishing, being outdoors, hanging with family, etc. Nothing impressive, but somehow satisfying.

Couldn't agree more. It is certainly the little things that make the mundane, repetitive part of life tolerable in today's society. Coffee, outdoors and family for me as well. I'd add sailing to my list too. Nothing beats being out by myself with nothing but the sound of my boat cutting through the water with a nice breeze.

Sailing sounds so peaceful... the ocean is so big i am always humbled by its magnificence!

There is something to be said about listening instead of talking in some situations. And although you may feel a little ahead of your time asking why things are done certain ways, it may be reassuring to know that sometimes our questions actually will refocus people in the system (any system) to take a second look. Sometimes this effects a change.

A couple of decades ago I was assigned to a warship as part of a surgical team. Health care people, generally, need to know the rationale for things that we do (evidence-based practice) so we were in a new environment where we frequently asked about procedures. We got so much of 'because we've always done it that way' to realize that the Navy does things because of Nelson (Admiral Horatio Nelson https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Horatio_Nelson,_1st_Viscount_Nelson ) having done things that way. That observation did not endear us to our Navy hosts.

There is no question that people generally follow the rules, while some of us consider them guidelines. Nonetheless, and not to put too much of a Polly Anna-ish perspective on this, we can effect some changes in the organizations we work in, and we do not need to be at the head of these organizations to effect change. Once you determine how things work (and that could take decades) you know where and how to exert the questions to catalyze the change. Society would be a bigger challenge, and if I knew how to un-fuck that, I'd be in a different line of work.

Thinking differently is needed and even tolerated somewhat in Western society (the current goings-on with our southern cousins notwithstanding) so like-minded people can effect change over time, without resorting to anarchy.

You high?

Great content! You are right

Congratulations @stephen.king989! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Congratulations @stephen.king989! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Congratulations @stephen.king989! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64038.60
ETH 3148.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97