Scotland – Plockton – White Is White Challenge – ArchitecturesteemCreated with Sketch.

in #whiteiswhite7 years ago

The picturesque village of Plockton on Scotland's west coast in Wester Ross in the Highland Region, like so many nineteenth century coastal communities around Scotland, was a planned fishing settlement set up with the hopes of halting emigration from the Scottish Highlands.

Today, it is a travel destination, affectionately known as the Jewel of the Highlands and is famous for its mild climate and palm trees. It sits on the shores of Loch Carron with a beautiful view of Duncraig Castle across the water against a backdrop of mountains.

Plockton Loch Carron Scotland.jpg
Image © Diane Macdonald. All Rights Reserved.

Camera Used: Canon EOS 5D Mark II
Lens: EF50mm f/1.4 USM
Camera Settings: 1/125 sec; f/16; ISO 400
Software: Adobe Photoshop® and Adobe Camera Raw

Plockton Scotland.jpg
Image © Diane Macdonald. All Rights Reserved.

Camera Used: Canon EOS 5D Mark II
Lens: EF50mm f/1.4 USM
Camera Settings: 1/80 sec; f/20; ISO 400
Software: Adobe Photoshop® and Adobe Camera Raw

The theme for Friday's White Is White Challenge is Architecture

The explanation and rules for the challenge can be found in this post

Monday: White Photographed Against White
Tuesday: Animals
Wednesday: Flowers
Thursday: Food And Drink
Friday: Architecture
Saturday: Water In Nature
Sunday: Anything Goes

Thanks for taking the time to read this! I appreciate it.

Upvote and Resteem.jpg

To find my blog posts, photography and designs on Steemit, please search on #dianemacphoto and to check out my art prints and stock images online, please visit my website.

Sort:  

Nice photos my dear friend

Thanks!. I'm glad you like them!

This post has caught the eye of @MuxxyBot and has been nominated by the curation team.
If chosen it will feature in a curation post by @MuxxyBot.
An image from your post may be featured.
Please reply to this comment if you accept or decline.

Ok. Thanks for the nomination!

Congratulations. This post is featured in today's Muxxybot Curation post.

https://steemit.com/curation/@muxxybot/muxxybot-curation-32

Thanks @muxxybot! I appreciate the exposure!

This is awesome. I never knew Scotland is this beautiful. I hope to visit there someday. Thanks for sharing this beautiful country side photos.

Thanks @eadiatu. Yes, it is very beautiful indeed. Everyone should visit at least once! Thanks for stopping by and commenting!

I love these. I never knew palm trees grew in Scotland. The photo shows such a quaint village - no sidewalks - just a wee path to the parked car or the road. I enjoyed both photos, thank you. :)

Well, there are sidewalks, or pavements as they call them, but they are very narrow. Most people are surprised by the palm trees! The Gulf Stream transports warm water to the region, keeping the climate quite mild!

I would love to visit there for sure, as I previously said. Bucket List!

I recently read somewhere to dispense with the bucket list. Just go ahead and do it. LOL! Not that easy, when there are so many places you would like to visit!

Right. And getting over the fear of going alone. Booo....one day I'll find someone to go with, one day. I don't have many other places to visit.

You can do it! I travel by myself every second year. It's just too expensive for us both to go every year. I do have family to stay with, but I still go off on my own too. On the way back this time I had a layover in Iceland and explore Reykjavik!

I would love to see Iceland too!!! I've travelled several places alone but not across the ocean. Just across Canada and to Florida. I could probably find relatives in Kirkintilloch or Glasgow. Most of my family is gone so they'd be people who'd never met me or even heard of me. We'll see. Maybe I'll think about it for next year.

It's different fro me, I guess. Scotland is my home, so it's only natural that I would make my way back there every year!

Congratz, your post has been read, approved and resteemed by a human!
pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png

Check The Daily spotlights of 13 October 2017! You missed one? ----> #dailyspotlights

Once again, thanks my friend!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64222.08
ETH 3135.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99