You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Getting into Whiskey

in #whisky7 years ago (edited)

I am glad I saw your upvote on my most recent blog.

You really do have to approach scotch as an adult and not bomb a shot like we were in college!

What I recommend to folks looking to start an addiction is not spend too much on something that you might not have the pallet for, or too little and get something like Johnny Walker Black swill. My cognac snob likes to call these "plunk," meaning good value, good taste and widely available.

Here are a couple ideas:

  • The Balvenie - I like the double wood because of the slightly sweeter taste
  • The Glens - Glenfiddich, Glen Morangie, Glen Livet - All standards, good stuff and widely available
  • Dalwhinnie 15- My favourite of this list

It seems there is a shortage of single malts in the world and many companies are resorting to blending and branding. I am no snob so I like a good Macallan Select Oak for example as well. Additionally, I have become a big fan of bourbon in the same vein.

I hope you are still checking your older blog posts. I may put together a more detailed one myself.

Whiskey!

Sort:  

Thanks for the response and your tips on decent next ventures. The Balvenie sounds interesting.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63439.39
ETH 2545.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66