Why Wherein is a big deal and why I delegated 5000 SP to them

in #wherein6 years ago

Recently, my in-laws returned to China after an extended visit to Australia. A few days after they arrived back in China, they realised that Steemit and Steem Connect was blocked. This meant that they couldn't login to almost any Steem related sites. As they primarily use mobile, they couldn't use Steem Keychain either.

I started looking around for a solution, and the first app I thought of was Wherein. I recall reading that @wherein had developed Wherein Connect, an alternative login system for users in China, similar to Steem Connect. So I got my in-laws to download the Wherein app from the Wherein website, and using Wherein Connect, they were able to finally use Steem again! This was my first positive impression regarding the potential of Wherein. I think the only other Steem app that I'm aware of that is able to be used in China is @Partiko.

A few days ago, I read about Wherein developing a new sign-up and sign-in system for Steem in this post, where users would be able to sign-up and sign-in to Steem using their mobile phone number, a verification code and WeChat Pay. This is huge in my opinion, as an easy sign-up process would go a long way to mass adoption, in particular as many users in China exclusively use mobile, and often don't even have an email address.

So yesterday I decided to help my mother in-law @joy2018t power up 5000 Steem and delegate it to Wherein. If you're looking to support a great project on the Steem blockchain, I would encourage you to take a look at @wherein.


Register on CoinSpot, an Australian cryptocurrency exchange and Receive $10 worth of Bitcoin when you make your first AUD deposit. To receive the free $10, you can deposit any amount, as little as $1. You can also purchase directly from a range of cryptocurrencies including Steem and EOS.


If you have a Steem account created before 12 July 2018 with a reputation of at least 30, you can claim $5-$160 worth of Byteball tokens By downloading the Byteball wallet here, and following the instructions in this post.


IMG_1769.PNG

Sort:  

How is this looking? The account is powering down (although only a small amount), and has only a small number of followers. I only have 1000 SP delegated, but I'm re-assessing my delegations currently, and I'm not finding much to get excited about.
Are there things happening behind the scenes or would that 1000 be better used elsewhere?

Good question. I haven’t really followed their progress recently. I was in contact with one of the team members a couple of months ago. I didn’t know that they were powering down. I’ll try to contact them to see if I can find out what’s happening.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Sounds like a great project! I’ll give them a follow and keep an eye out for their posts.

Also I definitely need to checkout that Byteball link you posted :)

Edit: it looks like I’ll need all small amount of some Gigabytes to get started but that’ll give the send me as a referral. If you’re interested in sending them the referral is all yours.

Sure, I’d be glad to send you some Byteball. Let me know once you’ve downloaded the wallet and have an address. Then you can go here to get verified. Once I have your address, I’ll send you some Byteball.

Awesome! It looks like I'll need 0.0006 GB but the referral you get should more than cover it. My address is XFPVUKSJOBEYBW6KKOTNA6QHMO6DR2AQ

Thanks again!

I signed up but it looks like my reputation might not be high enough to get any rewards anymore. Thanks anyways though!

That’s a shame. That’s no problem.

Thanks for aiding out! Your In-laws should be proud of you! 5000SP is a lot! Thanks for your benevolence.

Posted using Partiko iOS

It’s a good project.

I hope that their app will soon be trusted to work with iPhones (iOS)

Posted using Partiko iOS

There is an IOS version.

D5068E01-2192-4FB4-810F-49F95ABD55F4.png

I tried it and got this message. For now, it doesn’t work with my iphone.

Posted using Partiko iOS

O yes, many of the China developed apps are like that. Not sure about the reason, but it might be that they don’t need to have to be approved by the appstore.

I suspected that also, but the Android version should be working fine.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Sorry for hear that.You can try enterprise authorization, the process is as follows: Settings - General - Profiles & Device Management - Jiaxing Moming Network infromating...- ios 授权.jpg

Thank you for your support and trust.

You’re welcome. Keep up the great work. Let me know if I can be of assistance in any way.

OK,thank you very much.

来自于WhereIn Android

I delegated them 1000sp last week. Saw them when it started but they seem to have a great project with some decent prospects.

Posted using Partiko Android

Good on you. Yes, I agree. A lot of potential.

Few days ago i also delegated them 500sp. They offer is really good. You get 4.5% on your investment plus the esrly bird tokens. And who knows those tokens can worthlater a good amount. Enought to check the just the population is china and the possible onboarding people huhuuu😊

Posted using Partiko Android

Yes, I agree. They do have a very good offer. Let’s hope those tokens will be worth something in the future.

For sure. That market is huge.
Plus to delegate now to bid bots example they give 10% ROI as far as i know. Here just 4.5% but i also get a vote from them plus the tokens.

As i remember they told before that they want they dapp use also for payments or what. So steem or they tokens will be used for it so or the price of the steem will grow or they token price. Or both😊

I was watching they project since the first announcement just i dont had nothing to delegate. Now finally yes😊

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 62040.10
ETH 2417.02
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.58