You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Sunny Saturday

in #wherein4 years ago

To me, these images appear very small, and thin. About the size of the box I'm typing this text into. Impossible to see more than a general idea of where you are and what's around you, but hopefully other people are able to see the photos in a larger resolution. Maybe it's because I'm just on Steemit using a PC, not an app on a device? Have a happy weekend.

Sort:  

There's an error in the Wherein code that caused the white borders.
The panorama images do seem kind of slim to me, even in the other posts. They save this way in the device.
I will see if there is a way to change the aspect ratio, but I don't think there is. (in the phone stock application anyway)

I also use a PC primarily and find this undesirable, but I do like the panoramic images in general terms.

I'm wondering now what would happen if I posted them through a PC web browser instead. I might give that a try, and I might be able to modify the aspect ratio through paint on Windows.

Have a happy weekend too, thank you for stopping by.

Makes sense!
I was thinking of looking into image hosting sites. Surely there's something free, and hopefully decentralized? I'm not up to date on that kind of thing. Generally I just get Steemit to host my images, but there are some disadvantages to that. I think we'd have access to larger images than 640 pixels if we used a 3rd party image host. I generally hate using 3rd parties if I don't have to, but maybe this would be worth it. I do a lot of photography and 640p doesn't do it justice sometimes.

There are some free hosting sites around. (probably not decentralized.)
I am not sure about max allowed resolution. I've not even looked into it and was unaware of the hosting compression with the local hosting.

The thought of using outside hosting is not attractive and requires more work.

Could host your own too, but that is even more work and things could go catastrophically wrong.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 71539.00
ETH 3603.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.75