What's in your library challenge

in #whatsinyourlibrary6 years ago (edited)

Entry to the 'What's in your library challenge' by @wizardave

Here is a picture of our little library at the foot of our bed in our campervan

20180425_171808.jpg

And some books in the window

20180425_171928.jpg

As you see it's mostly children's books at the moment, haha.
I love books, but i have actually never had a big urge to possess books. In all my traveling time i have always carried one or two books, which i have traded for new ones when read. And many times I 'just' read what comes along. So many times I've felt like if the books found me rather than the opposite!

The last book I read was "Mysteries" by Knut Hamsun. A really old copy from 1956 in the original Norwegian language which was actually quite easy for me as a Dane to read.

It just showed up in my camper, thinking my brother forgot it after travelling with us for a week, but I've actually never asked him if it is!

20180425_183736.jpg

I really love to read old copies. The quality of the paper and binding is so superior to newer prints. And I really liked the story too of this eccentric, yellow suited man traveling to a small Norwegian village. Following his encounters and wild, flowing thinking.

And now that I have the chance I'll share one of my favorite authors Charles Eisenstein.
He writes about activism, spirituality, economy, climate, society and everything in between. I really think he is one of the most tuned on thinkers of our time and Sacred Economics definitely has a huge impact on how I now understand the world and choose to participate in it.

I have lots of other favorite books to share, but I think I will stop here for now 😊

Thank you for this great challenge!

Sort:  

Hi there (temporary) neighbor :>)

That's a nice little traveling library you've got there.
I got no library at all - while traveling - although a woman in Spain gave me a bible - and I wasn't able to refuse it - and I brought a Portuguese book along. These days, I 'write' more than I read (if I don't count reading from screens), although I love reading.

My library is at my parents' house, collecting dust over time. When I manage to find myself a place to live, I might actually give away or throw away those books. I don't really care about things and don't find it too hard to live from a bag/ backpack.

Yes give away what you don't use 😁 thank you for the comment, see you in 5!

What a great philosophy to keep a few and when you've read them, pass them on, one of the reasons i have the little selection i have here too. Thank you so much for sharing your knowledge and wishing you good luck in my contest 😊

Here in France, sometimes there are boxes of books in the train stations; you can take a book, or contribute your own.

Nice! Yes i find book exchange shelves all over the world, so nice! Only problem in other countries is the language 😉

that's so cute! We have had a bookshelf in every vehicle we've ever lived in! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 69020.66
ETH 3731.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.65