You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: What's Cooking Challenge: My Baking Experiment - Baked Grated Potato Basket with Baked Egg

@happycrazycon your post is so sweet.If i could be honest and tell you the amount of fails I have had in the kitchen you would laugh.The worst was my pancake getting stuck to the ceiling.😂😂.Right i love my rostis it is a staple in the UK.Personally i never boil the potatoe as they disintegrate into mush.The point of the rosti is to be nice and crispy on the outside.So if you make it again do not boil.Grate it raw then drain all the water out it and add egg, flour, baking powder amd salt.Also i think your oven was way to high cook on a very medium heat that way the egg wont explode. Don't give up.If first you dont suceed try, try , try again! Cookings about experimenting and seeing what works.👌❤

Sort:  

Wow I'm so thankful for your tips on making rosti :) haha your pancake stucked on the ceiling? Would love to see a picture of that. Haha.. Good we can laugh at all these funny experiments lol.

Okay I will take heed of your advices and try again. Do you happen to have a good recipe for rosti? @pamcooks? :)

Yep.I use 500g of grated uncooked maris piper potatoes ( put grated potatoe in a tea towel and drain excess water), 1 egg yolk, 1tsp baking powder and 1tbsp flour , salt and pepper to taste ( i like to slice red onion in my rosti- makes it sweeter).Mix all together flatten in 4 round disks. Put in oven gas mark 4.Brush or spray with cooking oil before you put into the oven until crisp and golden.To be honest if you defo want runny egg i would just poach it seperate and add it once rosti is done.Hope my advice helps you.👌 ps check out some of my recipes on my blog may give you some inspiration😊

OK thanks for the elaborate recipe. I also definitely check out your blogs. Have you featured your homemade rosti before? Have followed you, @pamcooks :)

No i have not.I have only been on steemit for about 2 half months.I have cooked lots of other items though.But i will make it for my next recipe post ( just for you😊).Might make an indian infused take upon it.👌❤ following you back.

Yay!!! I am definitely waiting for that. Thanks @pamcooks :)

Welcome to Steemit. Take your time to explore! I have read some of your posts. Your food looks amazing! Feel free to participate in this #whatscookingchallenge too! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 57530.32
ETH 2439.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.37