Introducing the (ongoing) "WHAT'S COOKING CHALLENGE"

in #whatscookingchallenge โ€ข 7 years ago (edited)

whats cooking header final.jpg

๐Ÿ’ This challenge goes out to all the real Steemit foodies ๐Ÿ’
Yes peeps...
it's time WHIP out the creative cook in you!

And before I go any further,
Let me just say that this challenge is open to EVERYONE
(Boys and girls, Young and old)
whether you consider yourself a professional,
novice or complete disaster in the kitchen!

The objective here is purely creativity!

It's as easy as PIE, I promise hehe
(see what I did there...huh? huh? lol - ok, moving along...)

๐Ÿ’

INTRODUCING THE

๐Ÿ’

THE INSPIRATION BEHIND THE CHALLENGE

In addition to being a complete wine glutton hehe, I am also a HUGE foodie as my @steemitbloggers family know wellโ€ฆ I absolutely LOVE to cook (and eat...lol) - always experimenting with different ingredient and flavour combinations. I seldom follow recipes verbatim โ€“ most of the time, I will whizz through them, glancing briefly at the ingredients and method โ€“ then heading off to the supermarket, forgetting most of what I have read on the recipe and then improvising,
ending up with something totally awesome and unique!

I know how much I love pushing the boundaries and experimenting in the kitchen, no matter how outlandish the ideas may seem to others. I also love to learn from others and then adapt the ideas to my own tailored tastes. So I thought it would be awesome to see how creative other people get in their kitchens... whether it is a "pimp'd" toasted cheese sandwich or a "rebel" gourmet appetiser.

๐Ÿ’

HOW TO PARTICIPATE

Yes, here comes the boring recipe part
with rules and boundaries... JUUUST KIDDING!

Rules are meant to be broken!
>Insert evil grin here<

ok, ok.... seriously...

here's how it's going to ROLL:
(hehe could not help myself with that one)

๐Ÿ’

1: Use the #whatscookingchallenge tag and tag me @jaynie in your post.

2: Create and publish a post showcasing something that
you have prepared in your kitchen which is either
a) uniquely yours, or b) has been adapted and made your own.
(The more elaborate the post the better, naturally...)
PS. This is NOT limited to "plates of food" - it can be preserves, snacks, anything!

3: Accompany the post with at least 2 photos of whatever it is that you have prepared.
(and in the spirit of avoiding plagiarism, a photo of YOU WITH your dish would be a plus, but is not a requirement)

4: Tag at least 5 (but not limited to) of your foodie friends
that you think would like to participate...

๐Ÿ’

So what do YOU get out of participating?

Well you get to share your inner chef with Steemit, OBVIOUSLY... hehehe!

Oh, and... for whatever it is worth - you will receive...

1: An upvote from me (25 - 100%)

2: A resteem by me for those that follow ALL of the above
including the pic of you with your masterpiece.

3: Three random entries will be featured every time I re-announce the challenge.

4: And LAST, but DEFINITELY not least, those that include a photo of themselves enjoying a glass of good wine whilst preparing said masterpiece will receive a bonus 1SBD from me
NB: (said masterpiece must be included in the photo, whether on the chopping block, in the pot, or on the plate)

Most importantly, you get to HAVE FUN!!! sharing your creativity in the kitchen and you will also get to scout out the creativity of others by searching the #whatscookingchallenge tag.

GET IT? GOT IT? GOOD....

Ok Girls and Boys...
lets get cooking shall we
And pump up the JAMS while you are at it!
(hehehe, this just never gets old!)

๐Ÿ’

I will be re-announcing this challenge every few days (or more often, depending on my mood swings lol) and from the next feature onward, will also be sharing my own kitchen experiments hehe as well as the three random entry selections as mentioned above.

Cannot WAIT to see what all you fantasticals share... hehe!

HAVE FUUUUNNNNN!!!!

KICK OFF NOMINATIONS...

@rwedegis
@jacinta.sevilla
@gringalicious
@jeanwandimi
@mcfarhat
@flamingirl
@uniwhisp
@notimetospace
@allasyummyfood
@gillianpearce
@kimmiecfields
@amarbir
@fionasfavourites
@progressivechef
@denmarkguy
@zord189
@traciyork
@asianetwork
@iamjadeline
@karensuestudios
@papacrusher
@raymondspeaks
@jerrybanfield
@heartscally
@ksolymosi
@lizziesworld

Until next time...

Much Love from Cape Town, South Africa xxx

Steemit logo Jaynielea.png

Steemit Bloggers

Appreciator
Animated Banner Created By @zord189

Sort: ย 

Yars!!!!! Can't wait ๐Ÿ˜๐Ÿ˜๐Ÿ˜

And you KNOW I cannot wait to see what you make @kimmiecfields.... hehehe the young lady that MADE unpeeled mashed potato AWESOME... hehehehe ;) (oh the good 'ol days of no potato peeler... hehehehehe)

Haha!! ๐Ÿ˜Š๐Ÿ˜‹

I've been tagged here, now I gotta consult my inner chef... UHMMMMMMM :D

Whoop Whoop!!!!! I cannot WAIT @heartscally :D hehehehe HAVE FUN!!!!

I know EXACTLY what I'm going to make, because I was already thinking about doing a post on it! However, since it's a breakfast-y kind of thing, would it be acceptable to have a picture of me enjoying a mimosa with my dish? ๐Ÿ˜‚

hehehe TOTALLY!!!!!!!!! ;)

Coolness! I'm going shopping on Friday, then I'll plan to make it Saturday morning! ๐Ÿ˜Š

yayness!!!!

The only issue is may not have that many friends to tag.lol.๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿ˜‚. Seriously i will be pumping my jam.( Dance while you make, Reduce the calories as you shake.lol.) Right I so have to do this.I was just going to make my home made lasagne tommorow.I will have to pimp this up with a bit of Salt and Pepper ๐Ÿ˜Ž๐Ÿ˜Ž๐Ÿ˜Ž( i am sorry jaynie could not resist.you started it)lol

hahahaha!!!! I cant wait @pamcooks!!!!!! Have fun!!!! :D

Yaayyyy I saw this 3 days ago and v been looking for the time to do mine. And so I did it. yaaaayyyy.. Expect my post very soon

awesomeness :)

ย 7 years agoย (edited)

Muahhhh ๐Ÿ˜˜๐Ÿ˜˜๐Ÿ˜˜๐Ÿ˜˜ @olawalium actually told me about it and I respect him so much. I had to do it.

fantastical!!!!! hehehe :)Cant wait to see what you put forward hon.

Hahahahaha fantastical.

Yaaaaay!. Bring it on. Glad to hear this.

What a cool idea!! I can't wait to see what everyone cooks up for this challenge :) So fun :)

And what about you @lynncoyle1 ;) coooome oooon...... :P :)

I'll jump on the next cooking train for sure! Don't you be puttin' a bug in anyone's ear, but perhaps I'll be tagged by someone here :)

hahaha ANY TIME @lynncoyle1 - its going to be an ongoing thing, so... looking forward to seeing what you come up with :)

ok perfect! I'll put it on my never-ending to-do list ;)

hahahaha yeaaah I have one of those too LOL!!!

I bet you do!! We keep adding more than were scratching off as completed haha

LOL!!! TRUE STORY!!!!

Yay! Yay! I will do something very original for this challenge, I admit I don't like to cook but I love to eat, so I will prepare something very simple and healthy... thank you for this opportunity.

Cannot wait to see what you come up with @melvadg - and simple is good too! Have fun!!

Would have love to join the contest if am not already late. The post is 3 days old.

@nkereuwem You will never be too late. This challenge is ongoing and you can enter whenever and as often as you like. Just follow the steps in the original post :)

Thank you

Sounds like fun. wish I'd known about this yesterday! I would have entred the BIG EYED TUNA story..LOL..

Yes @thethreehugs that would have been awesome! But... its ongoing so am sure you will have something else to enter soon. hehe :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63508.13
ETH 2493.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.68