Whose the Jerk? Oh Yeah, the Chicken!

Jerk Chicken

Want to know what's cooking at the Renegade's tonight? Well, apparently, @armadillocreek is wondering because he nominated us to join in @jaynie's #whatscookingchallenge. So, let's get started.

We're running low on beef and, if I am being totally honest, my parents don't eat quite as much beef as we do. Usually, we pasture a steer in the summer and fill the freezer at the end of the season but this year we decided not to. What beef we have left isn't where we're staying so I've been trying new proteins and new recipes.

I tweaked a paleo jerk chicken recipe I found when the mister said it just wasn't spicy enough to really be Jerk Chicken the first time I made it. Ok, confession time. I went to Jamaica and I never tried jerk chicken! I know! I was in the backyard of where the recipe originated and I never tried it. Apparently, the group I was with found out about a chicken stand on the beach and they'd hit it up daily but the chicken was so good it sold out almost instantly. Needless to say, I am really wishing I had tried the chicken so I have a flavour profile to work with here. I digress.

Jerk Chicken

I thought, the original, un-spicy recipe was really good though so I decided not to change much at all. To kick it up a notch I added jalapeño peppers. Traditional jerk chicken uses scotch bonnet chiles but I didn't have access to any so jalapeño it was. Plus, scotch bonnet chiles are insanely hot, or so I'm told. Jalapeño peppers are a good starting point if you like spicy food but aren't accustomed to traditional Caribbean heat. I also swapped the coconut aminos for wheat-free soy sauce. Why do they add wheat to soy sauce anyway? It's not like it's thick or needs to be thickened.

Chopped

While I really enjoy this recipe, I think I would make even more changes the next time around. I would definitely double the sauce and use 3/4 to 1 whole pineapple instead of just a half. I would also dice the red pepper and pineapple a lot more finely and work it right into the sauce. Matt also suggested adding smoked paprika to the spice blend to enrich the pepper taste and mimic the traditional smoke flavour without actually smoking the chicken. The original recipe is from My Natural Family so if you like it, be sure to stop by her website to see what else she has going on.

jerk chicken

The little renegades joined in this family dinner and devoured it. We made the mistake of letting them gnaw on small chunks of jalapeño pepper but poor H ended up feeling wildly betrayed. Other than the jalapeño itself, the littlest renegades enjoyed the spiciness and Matthew said the recipe had more of the jerk flavour he was looking for.

Onto the goods!

Ingredients

Ingredients

  • 4 Boneless, Skinless Chicken Breast
  • 1 Red Bell Pepper, Sliced
  • 1/2 Fresh Pineapple, Slivered
  • 2 Jalapeño Peppers, diced
  • 1 Tbsp Arrowroot Powder
  • 1 tsp ground Cinnamon
  • 1 tsp Ground Allspice
  • 1/4 tsp Ground Nutmeg
  • 1/4 tsp Black Pepper
  • 1/2 tsp Pink Sea Salt
  • 2 Cloves Garlic, Minced
  • 1 Tbsp Fresh Lime Juice
  • 2 Tbsp Honey
  • 1/4 cup Wheat-free Soy Sauce (or Coconut Aminos)

spices

Method

Mix the arrowroot powder and dry spices together. Add in the minced garlic and lime juice to make a paste. Once blended mix in the honey and soy and whisk together and set aside.

Dice up your red pepper, pineapple, and jalapeño. A word of warning: use gloves when handling hot peppers like jalapeños! The oil from the peppers and the seeds are extremely potent and if you touch your face or eyes after touching these peppers you will regret not heeding my advice whilst writhing in pain.

Butterfly the chicken breasts and place them in a lightly oiled 9x13" baking dish. Cover the chicken with the red pepper and pineapple before evenly coating the chicken with the sauce.

Bake at 375°F for 45 minutes or until the inside is no longer pink.

Pairs well with jasmine rice.

Serve hot, but not too hot. Eat your face off. Enjoy! Pat your now full and satisfied belly.

I'd love to see what's cooking in the kitchens of @senorcoconut, @llfarms, @bthebest7, @crowbarmama, and @karenfoster

Jerk SelfieThe obligatory Jerk Selfie.

All photos and illustrations in this post are original work by Mrs. Canadian Renegade.


Canadian renegade Logo


Thanks for reading everyone! Please upvote, follow, and resteem to support this work. As always, comments are welcome.

Sort:  

I've never tried it either, but I think that jalapenos are quite hot enough for us.

Your photos are amazing! What camera are you using?

Thank you very much. I wish I had been able to spend more time with them but all things considered, I am happy with how they turned out. I shoot with a Canon 5D Mark III. Once upon a time I worked as a graphic designer and photographer. A year away from work, seems like ages. I am enjoying being able to exercise some of my skills through Steemit posts though. -Aimee

Thank you very much. I wish I had been able to spend more time with them but all things considered, I am happy with how they turned out. I shoot with a Canon 5D Mark III. Once upon a time I worked as a graphic designer and photographer. A year away from work, seems like ages. I am enjoying being able to exercise some of my skills through Steemit posts though. -Aimee

CONGRATULATIONS!!
Your post is featured in this week's The Kitchen Table Edition 13: Recipes, Cooking & Food Curation Day!

Thanks so much for stopping by and for featuring our recipe! -Aimee

Thanks so much for stopping by and for featuring our recipe! -Aimee

Ok, that looks delicious and what a great photo of you!!! So, I am travelling right now. We did a 17 hr road trip to California to visit family, so not much cookin' going on here! But, I certainly will share when I get back to it! Glad the little Renegades enjoyed the meal, that bit of betrayal though! Ouch! I've had a couple babies that liked a bit of spice. They also liked raw kraut juice! Lol!

Hey mama! Wow! That's some trip. And I thought 8 hours to visit my family was rough. I got nothing on you. I tried to nominate Steemians who tend to post cooking anyway so it might not seem like too much extra work to participate. I enjoy the nominations because I personally don't have as much content to offer as Matthew but sometimes I think they can feel overwhelming so I don't want to make anyone feel obligated if their plates are already for. Ha! That pun was unintended and so perfect! I keep forgetting to try kraut. I have to add that to the list immediately. We get lots of comments of surprise for what good eaters our kids are. As in, they eat real food and we don't have to constantly bribe them with treats to eat a meal and they're not overly picky. I hope you have a great trip. I am already looking forward to your return. -Aimee

As for the photo, thanks, I was feeling a little rough that day but I think I feel a little rough most days. :P
-Aimee

do you always experiment with my best friend's recipe?
I really people like to eat spicy food, so when you see your post my hunger flavor came immediately, you must be responsible for the impact of my obesity ,, ha ha ha

I didn't always experiment with recipes but I have been lately. I think I have more confidence i the kitchen now that I've been cooking for a while. Ha ha! I am glad this made you hungry, hopefully there was something equally as delicious nearby to satiate your hunger. -Aimee

Looks really good! The only jerk chicken i tried was something in the freezer section some years back, but methinks i may give this a try! Thanks for participating!

Ha ha ha! Funny how the western world tends to sample world flavours from the freezer section. I admit I did the same thing, once upon a time. I hope you do try it because it's one I think I will be working into regular rotation. Thanks for the invitation. I had to make half of it with a baby on my back, but we all had a good time. -Aimee

thanks for best tips~!

You're welcome! -Aimee

Looks great. I am a massive fan of smoked paprika and we go through tons around here so yeah, I'd add that. I added it to a lentil stew on the wkd that we had with caraway roast potatoes and it had a really meaty taste with no meat at all, so there you go!

Thank you! Mmmm... that sounds so good. Stews are such a comfort meal, aren't they? Perfect for cool, rainy days, which we seem to be in the midst of lately over here. -Aimee

Hi, we have voted on your post because you have posted your article to either food, recipe, recipes, cooking or steemkitchen #tag. Steemkitchen is a brand new initiative where we want to build a community/guild focused purely on the foodie followers and lovers of the steem blockchain. Steemkitchen is out of the conceptual phase and growing each day. We would love to hear your thoughts and ideas.

We are almost ready to Launch the first Decentralized Recipe and Food Blog Website that will utilize the Steem BlockChain and its community to reward contributions by its members.

Please consider joining us at our new discord server https://discord.gg/XE5fYnk

Also please consider joining our curation trail on https://steemauto.com/ to help support each other in this community of food and recipe lovers.

Kind Regards

@steemkitchen

Ps. Please reply “No Vote” if you prefer not to receive this vote and comment in the future.

Delicious food i want to eat it..

Thanks, I would have to agree. -Aimee

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 62410.74
ETH 2445.09
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67