What is it? Best answer wins 22.22 Steem - Results!steemCreated with Sketch.

in #whatisit8 years ago (edited)

Do you see it? Could it be...
Imgur
A dab of mustard on a silver coin.

Thank you for your patience. It's been another successful #whatisit challenge.

After the reveal, with money flying around, people always comment and say - "I wish I had known!"


Here is the original photo you were all looking at.

Imgur


With 12 hours left to go, we were chosen as one of the 80 most undervalued posts November. We had the lowest vote count!

Imgur

Many of you thought my sone made another project and messed it up. No, this one was all me.

The winners...

First Prize

We had a winner about 5 hours into the contest. The answer could only have been improved if he had inserted "of mustard" and "silver" into it.

I made it, and I called it "A dab of mustard on a silver coin."

**Our first prize winner - the first to guess the coin part... **

Imgur

Payment

Imgur


We did have others who picked up on the scratched metal surface being a coin - but @d3nv3r was the first.

@doitvoluntarily guessed mustard but nothing about the coin. (the answer was not 7 words either.)

@snooway59 and @ sokoloffa59 also mentioned mustard, which is hard to get becuase the mustard in Buenos Aires is a completely different color than real mustard.

Imgur

It doesn't actually even say "mostasa" anywhere on the package. Frustrating when you do know the word for eggs, butter, cheese, etc. and you can't find it while shopping because the entire culture knows it by its brand name only.


Second Prize - Funnies/Craziest

The most upvotes in the comments section was received by...

Imgur

Love the xD in there. Here is your payment.

Imgur


Other pictures. . .

Imgur

Imgur

Imgur


See the original contest post I had run.

What is it? Best answer wins 22.22 Steem

Today's winners.

Imgur

And the previous contest and its results here.

What is it? Best answer wins 11.11 Steem!

What is it? Best answer wins 11.11 Steem! Results

Sort:  

@d3nv3r - Hey I am glad you won it - Jeez dude, you almost changed your answer too.
When I saw your guess, I thought. Well, winning will take his mind off of smoking.

Seriously- you won't miss it once you are done! The urges saying "that smoke would be so nice" get to be less and less nagging. Now I am able to say to friends "bum me a smoke" and when they do I just look at them until they realize it's me - off them for three years.

Thanks @spong-bob, it was awesome seeing some extra steem this morning. I am a little argumentative being on day 7.. but other then that still going

Well I think I was the one that got it closest, it is crap, crap Argentinian mustard hehe And I also got the coin part, just not on the same post hmm... No problem, just kidding...

Awarded unspecified amount of Steem for trying for both prizes!
And for having one of the funniest !

Thanks @sponge-bob! and hope you got over your tummy problems... ;)

My son woke up yesterday and saw my post. He tried guessing and thought it was a melted rubber duck. When I zoomed in, that's what I was going for - You made it funny.

I think I had 5 upvotes.interesting contest

Paid! Go look in your wallet :)


Technically, you had the most votes. Was it a crazy / funny answer? No. But I am all about having fun. I have to find SOME way to give away 90 Steem coins every week.

To be honest, I did not expected this bonus. Thank you!

I had really planned to include a lot of the funniest entries in my "results" post. But, I had a lot of fires to put out this morning. Papers to sign for my son's school, phone calls, threats from the guy below on if i should use "his" tag. None of that is fun! I wish I would have come up with the "Anarchy' tag - Whoa! Imagine being the owner of that one. (satire)

I think you could create a personal tag for your contest. You have a large audience.

Mine is not as large as theirs. I will use whatisit or whatisitchallenge. I distictly remember something like writing somewhere, "I hope you don't mind" or "I hope it's ok to use this tag" in one of my earlier comments or contests. But, you are right. I will build an audience. I have other things to do as well which are normal posts - fire it and forget it. But an active comments section will bring up everyone's reputations!

This post has been ranked within the top 80 most undervalued posts in the second half of Nov 11. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $6.23 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Nov 11 - Part II. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

that was fantastic well done to all the winners
look forward to the next one

Wow. Yours was really good as well! You got the goo part and the metal part!
(I got hungry reading it.)

Awesome post thanks spongebob upvoted back.

Thanks, I hope you join in on the next one.

Hey, please don't use the steemitphotochallenge tag for this, it makes it more difficult for me to judge the contest. Would you mind taking it out?

I would be happy to. Mine are all in the comments section of my own post. I can imagine who it must be for you.
I saw your tag and the same process hit me that my contest does involve a photo, but I am not about making anyone's life difficult if I can help it.

Thanks so much! I appreciate it. Utilising that #whatisit tag is a good one to promote for this type of contest, I've seen a few of them and they're quite cool but none of the others have used that tag.

I agree that the flagging situation is less than ideal, which is why I very rarely do it (except for plagiarism) and why I prefer not to, it's kind of coercive and so that's not really what I want to be about.. but there are people who don't want to be civil and so it's there if necessary. Thanks for helping me out.

No problem - Would you flag that "Football Manager 17 Serial Key-" dude at the bottom of my comments? There is a good one that needs flagging!!

Ya gotta admit, this is a steemitphotochallenge... Even if it isn't your photo challenge. There is a challenge, about a photo, on steemit...

Yep, but it's not the Steemit Photo Challenge which is what I created the tag for :) All I can do is ask. I may have to start flagging posts that aren't entries as a small disincentive..

I'm just being a weiner...
I seen the tag use but didn't wanna say anything, it's not my tag to guard.

I couldn't wreck you lol and that's not what I'm about.

We got it sorted out anyway.

There are a few in the community who help to keep it clean of spam, and I appreciate them. It just helps the judging.

If ya started flagging other photo contests just because they wanna use the popular steemitphotochallenge tag I'd be disappointed in ya jam... I don't see any trademark or copyright protection on the steemitphotochallenge tag. I understand downvoting other phtos that have nothing to do with any contest at all...
But if someone is having a contest about photos on steemit you should be promoting it being the photography powerhouse you are, not downvoting it like a smegal...
precious steemit challenge precious...

I'm okay with you being disappointed, man.

I ask people not to first, if they continue doing it and it keeps making it difficult for what I'm trying to do, then I'll have to try a different approach. Civil adult conversation always comes first to reach an understanding between parties.

The normal side of my brain is trying to tell me to just "Shut up d3nv3r, she can wreck you", but the autistic part of my brain is just screaming... "She doesn't even do a PHOTO challenge she does a PHOTOGRAPHY challenge"
That twistid logical half wants to take their side over yours, but the other half understands exactly what you're trying to do and how annoying unrelated tags can be... So torn

I think all of Steemit is really tired of flags. I don't every flag anyone. Ever.

If Steemit doesn't make it, it will be for flagging, talk of flagging, misunderstanding around flagging. How about I take the tag off and we continue down the road.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 68611.07
ETH 3913.05
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.61